1000 Steps Add Up Fast

I often think of myself at the beginning of a long journey.  I have an art and creative workshops business in front of me, waiting to take off and soar.  The truth is that a lot of it is solidly in the works, and much of what I plan on doing, I have already done, with success.  For nearly twenty years, I taught art and drama workshops and camps.  I have been making art since the mid-nineties and have had spurts of time when I sold it.  I have won a national awards for my use of creativity and can’t help but throw my imagination into nearly everything I do.  So thinking of myself at the beginning isn’t exactly the truth.

 

I think as humans, we tend to downplay our achievements sometimes because where we are lacking seems to shout out stronger than where we are accomplished.  A dear friend Jessica from Wild Wood Naturals wrote to me today about my business, reminding me that “1000 steps add up fast.”  As I felt the warmth of those first steps beneath me, I turned to look back upon the steps I had already traveled.  I have taken thousands of steps in my lifetime.  And knowing that they led me here to this place of beauty and wisdom only served to make me that much more excited to face the 1000 before me.

An Update

I have been working on products for an etsy shop I am announcing in the next two weeks.

I am also proud to announce that as of last night, I made my first sell to Susan of Charming Trinkets.  Last weekend, I posted a few witch hats on a Facebook group I am on for artists who took Kelly Rae Robert’s Flying Lessons, and Susan thought one of them would be a nice touch for one of the display dolls she uses at her shows.  She will be at Glitterfest this weekend, and now, so will my little hat.  What a better way to start a business off than to have it supported by an artist you admire who has art you adore!

Here’s to the next 1000 steps, my friends.

 I would love to know where you are in YOUR journey, how you have managed the varied terrain life offers (or sometimes throws out at you), and what path you might choose for yourself should you decide to change directions. Drop a note in the comments, it’s a great way for us to get to know each other!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 1000 Steps Add Up Fast

  1. Jessica says:

    It seems sometimes we have travelled so many paths, but then when I think about it, they are all one big, cummulative journey. Where you are is just where your heart knows you should be. And I find myself travelling with you again, wanting to tip-toe around change for myself, but your blog today reminds me of the truth of the journey. I am on it.

    Thanks for sharing!
    Jessica

  2. I don’t even know you and yet you are a source of inspiration in my life. Since following your blog, I’ve begun dreaming of a creative space here in my home. And visualizing mandalas and a couple of paintings and a set of inspirational cards. Me, whose creativity extends to doodling and quilting and a love of the written word! Where will this take me? Exciting and scary and wondering if I’ve lost my mind thinking I could pick up a paint brush and create something.
    walk in beauty this day.

    • Rae says:

      Joss, I am so touched by your sweet words. Think you for the visiting me here so regularly and for supporting me as you do. Stepping out to meet a dream is so much easier when I am looking around me and find so many awesome women and men!

  3. oh and btw, the hat is just gorgeous.

  4. Sending you synchronistic gratitude — the crow is one of my power symbols (that may not be a crow for sure, but it sure looks like one to me!), and the spiral has been another meaningful sign in my life, the heart is my absolute insignia and I just chose a wooden crow poised for flight to be my guide as I move my art studio and office out of my sacred space back into our home. I hope you don’t mind that I printed your artwork out and put it on the wall so I can see it for empowerment and I make my journey back and turn reluctance into celebration. I will not sell it or give it to anyone else. I am looking forward to your Etsy shop opening. Count me in! Oh yes and I have a blog with a 1,000 Fun Things to Do Challenge, which I am also hoping to turn into a book — so I love your idea of the thousands of steps you’ve already taken giving you the heart for the steps ahead of you. Hooray!

  5. Jodene Shaw says:

    Rae, thank you so much for visiting my blog and etsy shop from Brave Girls! I’m so glad to find your sweet little place here!

    Journey. It is good to stop and take a breath, turn around and take a look at how far we have come, notice the beauty of where we are now and have excitement for what lies ahead. At times I get so frustrated with where I am “not” instead of seeing the growth and beauty. A step . . . just one at a time. I can do that!

  6. rosemary says:

    Oh Rae,
    I am so very elated to hear that you are seeing how far you have already come towards your dreams. As a spectatior to your journey I have to say It is the best at keeping one curious and looking foward to seeing what is next… again thank you for opening up and sharing your path with those of us who love you so. I visited the sites you mentioned and it sure sounds like you have an awsome support group of creativies.
    I know with each of your 1000 steps you have touched Souls and sparked their desire to find and persue their “artist” side as well. keep on a stepping sistar.

  7. Well, I just happened to be visiting and am very impressed and inspired. I have been working with a group of wonderful women to create and launch a selling venue of hand made creations and custom creations, and have let my own business slide a bit….Finally, decided to bite the bullet a few days ago when I was sick and only had the energy to sit so I made the best use of the sitting time (I like being busy, sitting is not my style) and take a stab at creating my first blog. 63 y.o. and I have never had my own blog….so now I do. It is far from perfect, but it will get there in 997 more steps….:) Lots of exciting steps ahead and hoping there will never be a finish line, just a carrot being dangled in front of me to keep me going. Thanks for the inspiration!

    Louise

  8. Pingback: First 100 Days of Flight: 11-20 | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

