Why Artists Have Wings

I flew yesterday, picked myself up from one road on my journey and took off for a new one.  Over the last year, I have been grooming my wings for flight, and yesterday was the day to stretch them and lift off.  Last night, I left a job that I loved at an agency that I loved to pursue something even more dear to my heart, a career as a creative arts entrepreneur.

As the morning sun settles comfortably in a rain cloud draped sky, I realize I have moved into the first day of working for myself.  I am surprised that I am not more nervous, but I have been experiencing so many things that seem to pull me into the direction of what is right for me that my dream feels supported. The first act as a full-time artist-ista was to share my news with you!

One of the things I have loved about the timing is that my last day fell in line with the full moon. You know, I don’t know a lot about astrology, but I do enjoy using it as a reflection of some of the important things in my life, like rhythm and cycles of becoming and entropy.  So to claim a new path when the moon (which happens to be the moon of my birth sign, Aries) feels big and bright, just like the moon.  Another thing I love is that the first day of my new business falls on the 13th, one of my favorite numbers.

So, I decided to take the hours leading up to the 13th to collage my full moon dream board.  The dream boards I do are in support of a monthly invitation by Jamie Ridler to connect with others dreamers to create visual guides for that month’s intentions.

Click for details

My dream board features images of flight, invitations to play, and the theme of blooming.  I belong to a group of artist who graduated from Kelly Rae Robert’s Flying Lessons.  Because of the metaphor Kelly Rae chose to center her e-course around, we encourage one another to fly.  We even call each other the Fliers, or Fly Girls and Fly Tribe.

As I was looking for images to include on my board, I came across some words in a magazine that asked, “Why do angels have wing?”  I couldn’t help think of my Fly Sisters as my mind toyed with changing it to “Why do artists have wings?”  And my mind started to wonder.

Why has that metaphor been so powerful for me this week?  Choosing to leave a stable job at a time when the economy is suffering so much might be seen a bit crazy.  But for me it has felt like the perfect opportunity and the perfect timing.

One of the philosophies I hold dear is that of creating my life.  I find when I work with individuals around their feelings regarding the making of art that they often report having loud clammerings come up from the inner judge while they make art or in response to what they have made.  Creating life can be this way as well.

So as I have faced the inner judge about this daunting yet exhilarating path I am creating, I have used the flying metaphor to help me rise above those self-judgments that have in the past had the capacity to paralyze me.

The little hummingbird with a crown on her head is one of the treasures I found for the dream board.  Last weekend, I had one fly right above my head, trumpet its little beak and flit off.  I sat there for a moment, feeling that I had just been blessed by a tiny shaman.  I have been like a hummingbird recently, moving here and there, managing the many projects that I have going on concurrently.

I thought it might be fun to list some of them so that you can get a feel for what life as a new creative arts business superstar is like.

  • researching and creating wings for my Ren Faire fairy costume
  • sewing a simple costume with a rennie theme (hopefully the machine will work!)
  • creating banners for the two new websites I will be introducing soon (one of which you can like on Facebook by clicking the Creativity Tribe button on the right sidebar, the other to be revealed soon)
  • creating art for my upcoming Etsy store and two local craft fairs
  • wrapping up details for an art workshop I will be doing locally
  • creating an on-line art workshop to mirror what I am doing in real life
  • applying for my tax id number
  • oh, and getting some much needed sleep (my mind gets so excited by all that I am doing that it just wants to come downstairs to my studio or to the computer and play!)

Whew!  We will see what gets done and what gets shifted a little.  I will keep you up on my progress.

I want to close by thanking you for the support you have offered as I have found my footing in the land of blogs.  I have met so many wonderful women through this medium.  I look forward to sharing the new sites with you and all the projects that I have in store. (I mean, seriously!  I can’t wait.  We are going to have so much fun together!)

Now, enough about me.  I want to here about YOU!  I would love to hear what you might do with your time if you were to jump from one path to another.  I would also like to invite you to share with us about what you are doing if you are on the path you choose.  I love the growing number of commenters we have here.  It is so exciting to find new people adding their voice to this community.  Perhaps today might be the day you decide to speak up.  I hope it is.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Connecting, Creative Living, Full Moon Dream Board and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Why Artists Have Wings

  1. Congratulations on your new journey Rachel! Looks like you are off to an amazing start filled with direction and purpose! We are all rooting for you! Can’t wait to see where your journey takes you! 🙂 Sending a flygirl hug! : Kris Lanae

  2. rosemary says:

    WOW, congratulations, I am speechless with pride for what you are doing… You go Sistar and Soar.

  3. Sofia says:

    so excited for your Rachel! I am so happy to share this time with you. i hope you will enjoy the journey and remember that your Fly Tribe is always behind you!

  4. Jessica says:

    Hurray for flying!

  5. So proud of you, embracing your dream and hugging it tight! Looking forward to all the good things coming your way. So excited and happy for you.
    -D

  6. Exciting news! Best wishes on this brand new adventure. 🙂

  7. Awesome news!! I am so excited and can’t wait to see your journey unfold. Blessings and all of the best to you, Rachel!

  8. spaark says:

    I cant wait to hear about your new creative journey! Good for you..so brave and I really believe, meant to be. Its obvious you put a lot of passion into what you do so I do not doubt that you will succeed on this journey. Now get on with that Creativity Tribe…I am patiently waiting:)))
    Julie

  9. Awesomeness…pure awesomeness!! So excited for you!! xo

  10. rhonda says:

    So, so, so incredibly proud of you!! If I had all the time in the world, i’d still want my job – maybe just part time. 😉 More time with my creative girls doing the things that make all 3the of us happy!

  11. Mariah says:

    Congratulations!!!! So exciting.

    I am working on re-starting Lone Star Ma as an online magazine (in my abundant spare time) and writing lots of poetry.

  12. melody says:

    Wonder-filled, over and over again! I am soooo happy for you – that you are filled with enough wonder and trust to walk away from what you have known and fly!

    By the way all artists are angels and all angels are artists!

    Have a blessedly joyful adventure!

  13. lieselbeukes says:

    Good luck on your new journey! It’s going to be wonderful!!!!

  14. Lisa says:

    Congratulations, Rae, on your new adventure. I can’t wait to hear more about the creativity tribe on FB. Love that name! This mountain mermaid is starting her own creative entrepreneurship – I’m a VA helping creative entrepreneurs like you with their important behind the scenes work. Maybe I can support you one day. All the best!

  15. Rose Duncan says:

    Enjoyed your post – love your writing!

  16. edustory says:

    Love reading about your day’s details…how fun

  17. Pingback: First 100 Days of Flight: 11-20 | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

