Off to Fairyland

My artist hubby and I returned earlier this week from a weekend at Texas Rennaisance Festival where we whooped it up with the fairy fair freaks, joining in with costume and revel.  Taking a journey into this wooded wonderland provided the perfect transition into a life of entrepreneurial adventure. 

I prepared for the trip by fashioning my own fairy wings.  I considered buying a pair locally, because that would be the easier thing to do, but when it came down to it, I knew my artisit spirit needed to show off at this pentacle of playland events.  So I gathered up inspiration by surfing images on the web and ended up dumbfounded by the spectacular spectical of winged ones featured in the Victoria’s Secret fashion shows.

Have you seen the wings on those women?!  Well, they encouraged me to think outside the wire coat hanger and panty hose box.  I began thinking of other materials and ended up designing a very unique pair of wings.

I decided that I wanted to be a deva rather than a fairy.  Devas are said to be the spirits who whisper encouragement to the plants.  When I was in college, I found a very old book about devas and have been fascinated with what they might be like ever since.  And so, I used nature as my influence.

I was nervous as we arrived at the festival grounds.  Would anyone else dress up? Would others be able to see that my costume was handmade?  Well, within seconds of getting out of the car, I saw costumes, store-bought and handmade, all around.  I sighed in relief!

The games were on.  I loved going in costume.  In fact, for me, from now on, it is the ONLY way to go.  The children met me with wide eyes.  Adults pointed from afar.  And before the weekend was over, several women asked if I had my own website.

Well, as a matter of fact, I will very soon.  And will you offer your wings?!  Why, yes, my lovelies, I will!

There are lots of details to work out for how to market wings and the various ways to make them, how to ship them and the like.  But that sounds like more adventure than not.

Truth be told, fairy art was some of the first art on my path to creativity.  So, incorporating it into the beginnings of this creative arts business make perfect sense.  Some people have told me to have a vision and stick to it.  But that is not what has been working for me.  Several months ago, in a fit of frustration, I asked if I was supposed to continue on with the dream to work with folks on-line.  I didn’t know the Universe was listening, but through a series of events, I have found one road marker after another leading me through a path that feels like will it is made just for me.  The fairy wings are part of that path.

And as you might be able to imagine, taking up the call to make wings for fairies guarantees you a magical ride!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I would love to hear how you bring more play into your life!  Is it something as big as a trip to fairyland (or in my case Ren Fest) or something smaller?  I love visiting with you and hearing about your life.  Won’t you choose today to share?

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, fairy and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Off to Fairyland

  1. I am a fairy gardener, and I love all things associated with fairies. I think it is thrilling that you made your own wings and had such a marvelous time at your event. And it’s really exciting that you will be eventually selling them. Hooray!

  2. galyn says:

    it’s great that the Ren-fair chooses Oct–we go to the Highland Games at UTA which they hold in June because a lot of the bands have people who teach music and can’t get away through the school yr–it is SO hot every yr-and we skip now and then. People dress up in the medieval outfits and I don’t know how they do it–I would have a heat stroke. Scarborough Fair too-although it’s my understanding it burned down. Lots of artwork and crafts were there-including the work of a fairy artist–which I much desired to have to hang on my walls-as if I have any empty walls. I’m not doing artwork just now and I admire you so much for taking the steps you are to make a living at it and will be watching to see how that goes.

  3. Very cute Rae! You make a darling Diva Fairy!

  4. Clare Docherty says:

    You really are soaring Rae – good for you!
    Clare x

  5. love your wings and love that you chose non-traditional wing materials to make them!

    • Rae says:

      Julie, I was so nervous about using it. I look at fairy artists like Renae Taylor and swooooon! Would be fun to make wings like that as well.

  6. teresacash says:

    I, too, love fairies. Not sure why but I do. AND… I love your wings.

  7. Mariah says:

    LOVE the wings! I mostly play with crazy little girls myself….

    • Rae says:

      You have lovely girls, Mariah. I don’t have the excuse of having kids to play with, so I just make play on my own. Either way, it’s good stuff.

  8. Jessica says:

    Like the other comments, I love the wings! And I definitely love fairies!

  9. You look beautiful with your fairy wings! I’m seeing you surrounded by magical fairy lights.
    fly on, fly on.

  10. melody says:

    Your wings are magical and perfect!

  11. Jo says:

    Fascinating wings! What are they made of?

  12. Pingback: Angel Wings and Horned Things « Stormy Skies and Lullabies

Leave a Reply

