From Fud to Fab

Okay, so I don’t know exactly what fud means, but it was the best word I could come up with to describe how I was feeling earlier this week.  I had just jumped into my career as a creative arts biz bombshell, but I was looking more like a fuddy-dud…hey, so that’s where the word came from!  And, well, it is hard to be fabulous when you feel like that.

Fuddy -Dud....not so extraordinaire.

So what is a girl to do?  You got it, MAKEOVER!  

Doing a make-over on the budget of a new business owner can feel a bit daunting, but I didn’t let that stop me.  I knew I had some options.  From free to full priced, I figured I could give myself a dye job and cut my own hair (believe it or not, I’m not half bad at it ….depending on who you ask), or go to the hairdresser who usually hooks me up (only she was currently outside my budget, although every bit worth it).  I decided to try out the middle ground.

My sis-in-law, Erica recently decided to follow her lifelong dream of becoming a hair stylist.  Listening to her excitement and watching the pictures of her accomplishments posted on Facebook, I realized she and I were in the some boat.  We were both setting off for our own adventure, staring uncharted territory straight in the face.  Who better to hand my transformation over to?

Now, as you might imagine, going with a newbie hairdresser can be a bit daunting, but I made a decision to offer my hair for her creative becoming.  Truth be told, that is one of the things I most love in life, being a Creativity Advocate.  I meet people everyday who are disconnected from their creative potential, who want desperately to do or be something creative, but feel creativity (art, writing, dance, and life lived just off the beaten path) is withheld from them.  So, any chance I get, I try to support courageous engagement of dream making….and even scared coo-coo engagement of dream making.  Taking this path to a new look honored Erica’s dream and allowed me to validate the business path I am developing as well…as an artist and an advocate.

Makeover Day

I decided to pack my Makeover Day with lots of pampering.  Some of the very first posts on Art of Collecting Yourself were about my beliefs in the importance of self-care.  This is a philosophy I hold as valuable to this day.  I think it is one of the essential elements to leading a creative lifestyle.

I started my morning with a cup of Red Zinger Hibiscus tea and a long soak in my tubby.  When my hubby and I first moved into our house, we converted the upstairs bath into a sanctuary for the body.  The tub is usually the first place I go for stress management.

Then I hopped in the car and made my way to the mall where Erica was taking classes.  I have never really considered myself a mall person.  I prefer thrift stores and antique shops where treasure can be discovered, uncovered, and upcycled.

So it has been a very loooong time since I have spent much time in our mall.  I knew they had done some renovation, but had not given it much notice.  I was delighted by the changes.  Even though I live in a smallish city, stepping into the mall made me feel transported to a large metroplex.

Makeover Day took on an even more luxurious tone when I realized that Erica’s school was run by Aveda.  Aveda offers services that utilized natural products and business practices which honor the human body while helping to sustain the Earth.  Just outside the mall was a windmill which worked to provide partial power to salon.  The other portion was generated by individuals who came to use the treadmill and other exercise equipment, people powered!

As Erica took me to her station, she poured me a cup of herbal tea.  I looked through a book with various hairstyles and decided to color my hair.  Working for someone else often means fashioning your look after their idea of what you should look like.  So working for myself felt like I might have a bit more freedom for self-expression.  And although I loved watching all the hairstylists running around me with green, teal, and pink hair, I decided to just touch on an edgier look with a darker color, tinged with aubergine.

One of my favorite parts of the experience was getting to see Erica as she learned new things.  I knew the way I wanted my hair cut was very different than anything she had yet learned.  Her teachers were patient and very hands on.  And as Erica worked on me, I could see her classmates watching to see what she was getting to do.  In the end, my hair did indeed look transformed.  Everyone ooooo’ed and ahhhhhh’ed about what Erica had achieved.  I think it must have made her feel good; I know it made me feel special.

I ended my Makeover Day in the food court, sharing a celebration lunch with Erica.  We talked about each of our experiences, and I discovered that I was actually her first paying client.  What a treat!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

When I got home, I snapped one last picture sporting a bit more makeup for a true Creative Arts Biz Bombshell look.  Now, I am ready to greet the world.  No more fud for me, this girl’s all FAB!

Before I close, I want to let you know that my hair isn’t the only thing that is getting a makeover.  Soon, I will be revealing TWO new websites.  One is a network site for creatives called Creativity Tribe.  Don’t want to wait to connect?  Join the conversation that’s already in progress on the Creativity Tribe Facebook Page.  The other website will eventually sift the seeds planted here at Art of Collecting Yourself to a new and improved home.  You can subscribe here so you are sure not to miss a beat, just look for the subscribe button in the right side bar.  I can’t wait to share those makeovers with you too!

And now, a word from you!  I would love to hear what you are doing for self-care these days, or what you might like to do.  Or maybe you are working on your own transformation.  Share your dreams here so that I can support and advocate for you!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, Self-Care and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to From Fud to Fab

  1. Love the new look, Rae! It is much more “you!”
    As for me? I’m floating a little more freely, less determined to sell anything, and more determined to be living my life creatively. I’m going to be doing more experimenting, more stretching, more writing, more photography – less STEERING in any one direction. It feels right for me at the moment. Down the road, who knows?

  2. kate hawkes says:

    great post Rae – and what a beauty of a new hair do! Congrats.. I will go to the creativity tribe page as soon as I have done the part 2 blog from friday that I promised myself today. and I look fwd to getting your guest post up there next week!

  3. Linda says:

    Hi Rae! I LOVE the new do! Totally you and looking ready to take on the world;D

  4. Michelle says:

    Hi Rae, you look beautiful, love the new hair, well done to you and your sister-in-law.

  5. Hey Rae, Love your new look–absolutely beautiful!! Great reminder of how important self-care is. Look forward to seeing your Creativity Tribe Site!

  6. Renee Burke says:

    L.O.V.E.!!! We can all learn a thing or 27 from you!!!! LOVE the new fabulous-ness! xo

  7. Oh this is brilliant. Good for you. You look great. Can you all see that inner glint in her eyes, coming from deep with-in ! Love it. Run girl run.

  8. you do look FAB! and how great to have that done while supporting someone else who is stepping out to claim a dream. I’m off to join your Facebook page as the member of the group who is wanting to reclaim her creativity and branch out beyond writing. As always, your energy and joy leaps off the page and inspires me.

  9. Sofia says:

    your so pretty. thank you for your post. i need a spa day. hopefully soon. i have a day off this WED so I think I might go for a facial and massage!

  10. I love the new you! It’s so inspiring, and so natural! Makes me want to try something new, too. Enjoy yourself! Also love the glint in your eye. Our spirits need to soar, and our work will follow suit. Fly!

  11. I love your style! It looks FANTASTIC!

  12. Melinda says:

    love the new look! I still have long hair….down to my waist at least and that is after cutting it a few times since I started letting it grow….but….I am finding I pull it up almost all the time now…and do not enjoy it hanging free so much as I used to. I think I used to define myself by my hair and looks…and now I really don’t so much anymore…I just don’t find importance in that…or maybe I am depressed…lol…maybe a little of both. Anyway….I am thinking of cutting my hair short…..and I like your cut!

  13. onewomansmusings says:

    Sounds like you had a beautiful day! And you look fabulous dahling! As ever a truly inspiring post. And how wonderful to be able to support and trust in someone else’s creative development.

Leave a Reply

