First 100 Days of Flight: 1-10

When I began thinking about stepping out of the payed-by-others world and into the make-my-own-way world, I had a band of encouragers rooting me on.  Some had taken a leap much like mine and others confessed to wanting to do the same, and some were happy where they were but curious about my path.   With so many people cheering me on, I decided to share snippets of my journey with them…and you….as a way of documenting what it would be like for me to pick up and take flight.

So roughly every ten days, I will pull excerpts from my journal to share with you.  I will try to be honest and authentic.  Some thoughts will be about my business and others about life.  As it stands now, the two seem to be one.

First 100 Days of Flight

  1. Exhausted. Exhilarated. Encouraged.
  2. My senses are alive today.  Eyes thirst for images of green.  I love the feel of the West Light in my hands, my nose bathes in sylvan majesty, and I marvel at the nature of my tongue’s vocabulary.  I am alive and invested in the present.
  3. The trees are huge.  They make me wanna stretch my idea of what is possible.
  4. Boss’s Day: Wondering what it will be like to be a boss to myself… I imagine striving for my goals but insisting too that I balance that with fun and play.
  5. A long ride home from RenFest throughout the night.  My imagination weaves wishes for the days and months ahead out of the path that plays out on the roadway in front of me.  The flashing lines and lights hypnotize me into believing they are already true.  I return home to a thriving business.  And so it is, and so it shall be.
  6. The trees in my back yard are moving in celebration. The temperature has dropped, finally. I nervously await settling into my new adventure.  After this week, I tell myself, I should feel more at ease.  I want to celebrate too.
  7. Loving the flexibility of creating my own schedule. Spent the day helping a sick family member.  Feels good.
  8. Lunch with two local artists.  Tasty local munchies, supportive conversation, and fresh ideas.  Stimulating.
  9. Thoughts of my old life leave me longing for all that was good there.  I celebrate the lessons and the connections.  Change isn’t always a result of negativity.  Change can simply be about growth in a new direction.
  10. Diving into the studio is different when it is a place of work.  What once was acceptable for weekend or late night art revels must now be streamlined to assure a more efficient use of time and space.  The challenge is daunting, but the results promise to be worth the effort.

I hope you will continue to follow my path as I document the first 100 days of my Creative Arts Biz.  I enjoy plucking out succulent seeds to share with you.  I hope they feed you as much as they have nourished me.
About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to First 100 Days of Flight: 1-10

  1. galyn says:

    “Change isn’t always a result of negativity. Change can simply be about growth in a new direction.” When this is true, it is a wonderful thing-because so often change is forced on us and not a choice. You have made a bold choice- it is not a small thing to throw your artwork out there for others to see with a critical eye and I hope–so much–that you make a go of it because your success is something we can all delight in; it is a magical thing you’re doing. Your work is a piece of you–all artists know that-and in letting other eyes see what you produce, you invite the possibility of your own happiness being contagious and uplifting to all who see your work.

  2. Elissa Brown says:

    I am still in awe of how brave this is of you… It says so much just having to differentiate your studio space as a place of work now vs leisure! That seems so poignant to me. I am rooting for you and am eager to see where your journey takes you!

  3. Way to go, Rae!!! So very proud of you and all you are reaching for.
    oxoxo
    lynn

  4. Joanna says:

    Thank you for stopping by & your ever so kind comments! It’s amazing what believing in yourself can do…all that seems unattainable, all of a sudden becomes within your reach! Best of luck to you in all your ventures & continue to reach for the stars 🙂

    xo
    Joanna

  5. Sofia says:

    “My imagination weaves wishes for the days and months ahead out of the path that plays out on the roadway in front of me. The flashing lines and lights hypnotize me into believing they are already true.” i love this statement. i can relate so much. this weekend after the whirlwind that was the Austin Fair I remember dozing in an out of consciousness. dreaming and floating. happy and thankful. i dreamed i was an artist….then i woke up and realized i was.

  6. Rebecca says:

    I’m really enjoying hearing about your journey. It’s given me a lot to consider in terms of my own direction. As a self taught artist, mother, and creative being I often feel as though I am balancing on a tightrope between following my passion to create and spending my time doing something that is considered more financially secure. So the balance act continues. Thanks for sharing your experience – you never know who will be moved or inspired.

  7. Pingback: First 100 Days of Flight: 11-20 | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  8. Pingback: First 100 Days of Flight: 21-30 | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

