Sharing Myself with the World

You would think after over a year of blogging about myself and my creative path, that I would have shared most of my creative interest, but that is very far from the truth.  Every day, I discover something that I have a passion for that I have yet to bring into the light where you can see it.  I like this about myself, and I think it speaks to the complexity in all of us.

Today my share-with-the-world interest is that I love doing Artist Trading Cards (ATC’s).  An ATC is a small work of art, usually 2.5 inches by 3.5 inches, that artists do and trade with one another.  Lots of artists do trades on-line.  Now I confess, I am a bit of a rebel when it comes to these little works of art.  I discovered them about seven years ago, about the same time I found a HUGE stack of 4.25 inch square cardstock that someone was discarding.  I snatched up the stack and have been lugging them around to parties and cafes, sharing them with house guests, family, clients and even the occasional stranger.

I treasure this little collection.  In it are cards friends made the night I graduated with my masters (including a few by my 4 year old nephew), tiny masterpieces from the kids I worked with after-school for several years, cards made with my husband on holidays, and even a card made by a very dear friend the last evening I spent time with him before he passed.  All of that in a tiny box.

Today, I am jumping the fence to join the on-line trading frenzy.  The Flying Lesson‘s Alumni, who have banded together to support one another in building our creative arts businesses, have created a trading circle that I recently joined.  The first trade is due November 1st, which means I have to get my pretties in the mail today.  I wanted to share them with you before they got sent off and then shared with three separate artists.  The theme is Flying.

Copyright Rae Payne

 

 

As I share my love of ATC’s with you, I can’t help but begin a list in my head of other loves I wish to share with you too.  The list is long because, well, I love my life, which means more loves to share.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Connecting, creativity and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Sharing Myself with the World

  1. Sally Rose says:

    I am so glad you decided to join in and share your art with us! Wonderful cards and story! Thank you!

  2. oh these are really pretty and will be treasured for sure.
    walk in beauty this day.

  3. Thanks for sharing — they are delightful. And it means a lot that you shared the stories of some of your collection. I can understand why you treasure them so much, as some lucky receivers will treasure yours.

  4. Joanna says:

    These are beautiful! & I love the message…well done!

    xo Joanna

  5. Ann Marie says:

    Sweet! I love the butterfly and the message.

  6. Tracy says:

    I love your trading cards they are stunning. The colours so uplifting.
    I am thinking of trying my hand at some of these tiny treasures.

Leave a Reply

