Block Party and Peek-a-Boo Blog Banner

My room mate just got back from a two week vacation. She came home, excitedly reporting the highlights of her time away with stories, pictures and souvenirs. My husband and I were eager to hear about her journey. It has only been a few days, but I feel the same way I imagine she felt about my time away from the computer. My media fast has felt energizing and very productive. And I can’t wait to share my experience with you.

First Project: Block Party

I spent the first part of my time away prepping several small pieces of wood by sanding them with my handy new Black and Decker Mouse Sander. I have been collecting some pretty cool tools lately. This is one of my favorites but doesn’t hold a lantern to my new light box. I have wanted both for a long time, and they are just as useful as I hoped they would be.

Once prepped, I started playing with the blocks. I had little sketches with plans thumbnailed on them. But, I found as I was sanding the wood, that other ideas came out of the designs I found in the grain. So, I let go and my Muse took hold.

Copyright Rachél Payne

The little blocks have been fun to work with. They call to me at night when I am supposed to be turning in for the night and in the middle of conversations with loved ones. They just might be my new addiction.

Copyright Rachél Payne

I used the last day of my media fast to work on the banner for my new website. The process was nerve racking.  Some parts of coloring the image are new to me, and I didn’t have a back-up black and white image in case I messed up. Overall, I am happy with it, but I am looking forward to figuring out how to work out the kinks I discovered.

So, you wanna sneakie peekie at the banner? (drum roll, puh-leeze!)

Peek-a-Boo Banner to Pique Your Interest

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

copyright Rachél Payne

This is just a small portion of the banner, but probably my favorite part.  It is relaxing and exhilarating all in the same breath…just as I hope the new site will be for you.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

 OOoooo, I hope it gets you excited as much as I am for shifting over to our new home. The original banner concept came from a sketch I did while listening to a speaker talk about living your life’s destiny. I wasn’t trying to draw it. It just came out. And I knew right then and there that it was the banner for the new site. It has gone through lots of transformations and each one has taken me to a new level of technicality. In fact, just after finishing the banner, I decided to alter the woman’s face.  We will see what she looks like in the end. Riding the process is exciting.

Well dear Creative Spirits, I am off to get my hands dirty again.  I promise more pictures soon, including some images of my studio as I transform it from a place where I sometimes go to play into a place where I work….. at playing. Just a reminder to you that I am participating in AEDM where you can find some really great art by other participants.  Head over and check them out.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in AEDM, creativity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

13 Responses to Block Party and Peek-a-Boo Blog Banner

  1. Lori says:

    Love these, Rae! Can’t pick a favorite because I love them both.

    Lori

  2. The wood blocks are terrific, and even more so because of your explanation of the process. I love love love the banner and can’t wait to see the rest of it. Hooray!

  3. rosemary says:

    Oh to see such color and so much life in them is awsome… when you were discribing the sanding and finding things coming out of it… Sistar you are so connecting with your art. Beautifully done. The banner will be awsome too. My bloodpressure dropped 10 points just looking at it… and that would be a GOOD thing for all of us to be able to look at a picture and it put us in a meditative state.. thank you my day is already richer for viewing your blocks and banner. WE all should take the media fast from time to time. Love u –
    Love & Laughter-Rosemary

  4. your art has a very dreamy quality to it…
    Gwen xx

  5. I’m just coming back from a two day media fast myself. And I recently acquired a light box too that I love (still not sure what took me so long!) Congrats on being so productive. That’s wonderful!

  6. Ann Marie says:

    Such fun artwork Rae. Glad your time away from computers was inspiring. I’m thinking of taking some time away too.

  7. C M Rawlins says:

    Love the picture for the new blog banner! A sanctuary sounds very appealing.

  8. Love the banner and am looking forward to the new site too.

  9. The wood blocks are great and I am always ridiculously impressed with people who aren’t scared of using power tools in any form… new blog banner looks great looking forward to seeing the whole thing xx

  10. So many interesting projects! I´m staying off Facebook for the whole month (to free some time for AEDM) It was nervewrecking the first three days, now I´m almost ok.

  11. Wonderful things are happening – Your banner looks great!

  12. Jessica says:

    It’s all beautiful! I especially love the mermaid and her water home. While I think the quality of your art is normally more wild than naive (who’d have called your art ‘naive? not me!) I can see the shift you described and enjoy the different feel just as much as your other work. Can’t wait to see more!

  13. Pingback: The Art of Play | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

