Art for Social Justice

Art is many things to me. It is a past-time that entertains me, my family, and friends on weekends as we sit, drawing together at the cafe while listening to music. Art is a means of expression for a multitude of feelings and the stories that accompany them. Art is a balm to my grief and sorrow, a platform for celebration.

Today’s Art Every Day of the Month entry offers art as a pathway to social justice. Over the last two years, up until very recently, I worked as a counselor at a domestic violence shelter. Tonight when I sat down to spend time with my creative spirit, I found myself offering encouragement to those who suffer from domestic violence. The piece I did might just as well speak to someone else who is going through a difficult time, but it was made with DV victims and survivors in mind.

Copyright Rachél Payne

Being so invested in a movement of this magnitude is hard to simply walk away from. My AEDM offering connected me with a matter which is important to my heart.  It makes me realize that often when I make art, I find myself wanting to hold onto the product. This one is different, I can’t wait to share it with someone. I hope it will find a home with someone who needs the message.

Copyright Rachél Payne

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in AEDM, Social Justice and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Art for Social Justice

  1. Our art says much about us and it is so much more meaningful when it helps us understand ourselves and tells our story. Both pieces you have made here are really amazing and beautiful to look at.
    Gwen xx

  2. Beautiful piece both visually and emotionally. Instantly Isaiah 11:9 popped in my head, “They will do no harm nor cause any ruin in all my holy mountain; because the earth will certainly be filled with the knowledge of Jehovah (God’s name) as the waters are covering the very sea.” I cannot wait for the time when no one will be harmed by any type of violence but especialy from those that are supposed to love and shelter them.

  3. So powerful and meaningful. I truly believe that art and creativity are healing and can open doors for people that were previously locked. For your artwork — a woman who looks at them can feel inspired personally just in the viewing, and might even want to express herself creatively at some point. I had abuse in my younger youth and I can relate to these — thank you so much for your intentions and artistic manifestation. Hooray!

  4. i really love on how you play with the colors

  5. Carolyn Dube says:

    The art alone is beautiful but when you add the story behind it, it becomes so powerful!

  6. I was moved by your post. 🙂 It’s nice to share your art with other people; not only do you share a piece of artwork but also a part of your heart and soul. Every work of art has a story and meaning behind it. Some people don’t really understand what we want to convey, but there are some that we are able to connect with very easily.

    I think that through the creative connections in AEDM, it is easier for us to share our passion.

    xoxo
    Ida

    http://asplashofida.blogspot.com

  7. the art is lovely ad the story behind it just gives it ore depth and meaning… wonderful post today xx

  8. Wonderful that you worked with these women and even more wonderful that you offer the encouragement you do through your art!

  9. Pingback: The Art of Play | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

