First 100 Days of Flight: 21-30


Every 10 days for the First 100 Days of Flight as a creative arts entrepreneur, I will pull excerpt from my journal to share with you.  I will include my hopes, fears, goals, set-backs, and victories.  Some thoughts will be about my business and others about my life.  As it stands now, the two seem to be one.  Perhaps that is the nature of making a living out of living a creative life.

Days 21-30

21. Three weeks into running my own business. I am finding that I have to help others learn how to talk about what I do. A distant friend recently said she heard I was unemployed. I gently corrected her explaining that there is a big difference between unemployed and self-employed. Then we both smiled.

AEDM Day 12

22.  I got the recipe stand in from Jennifer at Alayray Vintage for one of the projects I am planning next year. What if I spent the year reflecting on what I am grateful for? What if others joined me? A circle like that would be powerful.

23. My to do list seems to have molasses all over it. Every time I touch it, I swear I go into slow motion. I think I am trying to get so many things done in so many areas of my life that it is difficult to see progress. But I am trusting that each day I am doing the best that I can and that my best will be enough. It WILL be enough.

24. I totally dig this Art Every Day Month! I want every month to be November. Uhhh, I guess I could have that if I did Creative Every Day, but am I that brave? Maybe.

AEDM Day 14

25.  Pushing to get the studio organized. I have an art party planned. Too much stuff, too little space, not enough time. But still going to try.

26.  I love looking down and seeing my hands messy with paint, ink, glue, and grime. I saw a woman this weekend with her nails immaculately polished with French tips and rhinestones. My hands sparkle nearly as much as hers, but mine is from the glitter spray!

AEDM Day 13

27. I wonder if my neighbors mind the noise from my sander. I wonder if they know I have set up Santa’s Workshop in my back yard.

28. I can’t believe I schedule the garage sale and an art party all in one day. But gosh, it has been the best day! The house is less cluttered, the studio inspires me, and I was surrounded with women, men, and children who connected with each other and themselves through art. This, dear Universe, is bliss!

First gathering in the new studio calls for a heaping dose of Ya Ya Sisterhooding ...and a few Yo Yo's to boot!

29. Went through the boxes from my old office. I set aside a few reminders of what I accomplished and of the people I connected with there. I have gratitude for the tinges of grief that visit. When it rises in me, it helps me to know that the near two years there was well spent.

30.  One month since I took up this new path.  The future feels bright and promising. My vision of what is right for me gets more clear every day. The fear that was with me in the beginning doesn’t sting as much. I can hardly wait for to find out how this fairy tale will end. Although I am fairly sure it will be with happily ever after.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in AEDM and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to First 100 Days of Flight: 21-30

  1. I’m so happy for you, Rae! I wasn’t sure that jumping off w/o a safety net was a good idea, but I see I was wrong to worry! You are blossoming and the universe is rewarding your effort! You inspire me!

  2. what gracious sharing of YOU and filled with energy and delight on this road you are on. Awesome.

  3. Carol says:

    Rae, I’ve enjoyed following your new journey. I did the same thing about 25 years ago. I knew it was then or never. I left a good job for one of uncertainty. I use to weave baskets and I was so addicted to it I had to do this full time. I continued on this path for over 11 years and don’t regret any of it. Since that time, I only worked part time and now I’m retired and can spend as much time painting as I want. Good for you!

  4. Suse says:

    I say “you GO girl!!!” This is my current favorite saying from Steve Jobs “Don’t let the noise of other’s opinions drown out your inner voice. Follow your heart and your intuition – they already know where you want to go.”

  5. Jennibellie says:

    I agree wholeheartedly with Suse (but she can say it a lot better with Steve Jobs quote), congrats to you for following your creative path, thanks for sharing, much love Jennibellie x

  6. How exciting!!!!!! Thank you for sharing your journey and reminding me to play more!!! I am sure your journey is/will be Happily Ever After!!! xxo

  7. Terrie says:

    It’s so interesting to read how others come to follow their creative leanings and where it takes them. Each of us has such a different journey, yet so much the same. I look forward to more. Thanks so much for sharing your musings.

  8. I loved the to do list covered in molasses… that is how I always feel and I will b shamelessly using that term for the next week at least… great post xx

  9. Diane says:

    Good for you! I am so glad you are doing what you love and have a passion for. We have to look for those things and embrace them, even if it is a little scary at first!

  10. Sofia says:

    You inspire me…

  11. Dave Rowley says:

    Wow. What a great adventure, I really enjoyed reading this! Your journal art is beautiful and I love that you scheduled a garage sale and an art party on the same day!

  12. So glad to see what you are up to – all wonderful and exciting things. I loved your comment about your to do list having molasses all over it. I felt like that a few weeks ago, but seem to be getting back into a groove!

Leave a Reply

