Illuminata Intentional Art Circle

Welcome to Illuminata Intentional Art Circle.

I am so honored that you have joined me as I close out the year and gently wrap up the happenings of my blog home to make room for a new website. I want to start by orienting you to what Illuminata is to me and then offer you the primary activity that we are going to be doing together.

The History

As you may have read previously in my posts about Illuminata, when I first developed this intentional art activity, I was at the end of one of the most challenging semesters of my studies for a masters in counseling. The holidays were soon approaching, and my time off from school suddenly felt like it was being swallowed with things I hoped to do, things I had to do, and a balance of spending and getting. My stress level shot up. I wondered how I would make it with any degree of enjoyment.

After struggling for a bit, I made a decision to choose a more peaceful state of mind but needed something to help remind me of my choice. I envisioned that I could create a time and space in my life that would lift me up while helping me get centered. I decided a candle would be my item of focus and that I could light it when I needed a break from the chaos. As I told my friends about it, they asked to join me. Before I knew it, I had created a movement: women (and sometimes even men) choosing personal peace and enriched meaning in their lives.

And so this group echoes that sentiment. The first groups began in my living room and before too long took place in my community. How exciting to see this take to the blogosphere where a web of support can reach out around the globe to link us!

As we come together, let us begin to imagine this as an end of the year sanctuary where you can come for a bit of inspiration. Let this also be a place where you can bring with you links to blog posts that respond to what you discovered here, left like little gifts for others to discover.

 Illuminata: Setting Intention

We are going to be creating a collaged candle using the religious candles you can find at the super market, religious shops, and sometimes even the dollar store. The process can be a blend between structured and organic. That is to say, you may have some things in mind that you want to include from the very beginning or have absolutely no idea how to approach it. Both of these and a mixture of the two are just perfect.

We will begin the project by getting in touch with our intention. I want to invite you to find a bit of quiet time. This may be even a short as 5 minutes. It can be done in a special place that inspires you or in the bathroom behind closed doors (I know for some mommies this is the closest thing to personal time that they get…if that.) Get quiet and ask yourself what it is you that need as the year comes to an end. Let your mind wander around what it is that you crave and desire. Just play with that. Then listen for the answer. Now honestly, it may not be that simple. You may walk away with a phrase or sentence, an inkling, or a whole mess of things that you need. Whatever you walk away with is just fine. You have invited yourself to indulge in the possibility of creating something new and desired for yourself.

You might consider writing down a few things: the word, a list of insights, or the gist of what you found within. Keeping these impressions in mind, turn to the project.

The Project

Potential supplies:

  • religious candles
  • magazines
  • scrapbook paper
  • photos
  • ephemera
  • scissors
  • glue stick
  • glitter glue
  • Modge Podge

Begin by preparing your candle. If it came with an image, you may want to pull it off. It is giving you a hard time, leave it on and work over it. Gather your supplies and begin culling through the images and scraps to find a variety that feels right for your intentional candle. Some of the things you choose may be different than your original intent, but just try letting the process happen.  Once you have gathered your little pile of items, begin arranging them on the candle using the glue. You can add glitter for accent and seal with Modge Podge if you like. Remember to let this be an easy, inviting project. If there is some supply you don’t have, look to what you do have.

A Circle of Support

To help give us a sense of support and community, I would like to invite you to introduce yourself, share your blog if you have one and give a little shout out to the others who have found their way here.

What’s Next?

I will be creating an Illuminata page at the top where you can find a running list of Illuminata related posts as they are published.  On Monday, I will publish a post where you can share your intentional candle if you would like. Take your time and post there as it is finished, even it it takes a week or longer for you to get to it.  You can include links to blog posts or to a flickr account in the comments.  I will post on my Facebook when new comments with links are posted. If you are not able to share in that way but would like the group to see your artwork, I will be happy to post it for you if you email me. You can reach me at rae@creativitytribe.com.

Keeping in Touch

Through the end of the year, I will be posting additional projects and inspirations. The intentional candle will be the most involved project and this post will be the longest so that participating in this won’t be a burden but will instead provide just the right amount of support to get you through the holidays. If you would like updates, you can subscribe either to my blog (in the right hand corner) or to my Facebook page.

Thank you again for joining me. I look forward to Monday when I might get a peek at your candles.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Intentional Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Illuminata Intentional Art Circle

  1. Jamie Burch says:

    I’m so excited about this first project! Thank you so much for sharing Illuminata with us, Rae! I hope you have a wonderful, creative weekend.

    Take care,
    ~Jamie

  2. Great tutorial and all-around idea with the intentional art circle!

  3. This sounds very interesting Rae. I really like the idea a lot! Might give it a go 🙂

  4. galyn says:

    What I need, crave or desire? Hmmm…this is a challenge. I really don’t desire much. My boys are grown men. My parents’ health is ‘ok’ for 76 and 80, better than some, worse than others. They are making it thru the day with caregivers aplently. I have desired a young woman to come into my single son’s life and she arrived tho she may be only temporary. That’s the last thing I’ve wished for beyond the Harry Potter movies the last 3 of which I haven’t seen. At 58, I lead a simple but whacky life. I’ve downsized -not voluntarily- from a 4 2 1/2 2 to a 2brm apt. Most of what I owned after over 30yrs of marriage is gone. What’s still to go is in a stack of boxes hopefully to pay for a new vaccum as my other was stolen from the garage. I guess there’s my answer….I need a vacuum cleaner.Desire? I desire a trip for me and my sister to Scotland. It’s a someday off in the future thing. It’s the one thing still out there, the one thing I haven’t done that I actually want to do. Castles.

  5. galyn says:

    I meant to mention a Debbie Macromber book ‘Twenty Wishes’. My Mom read it and so did I. The challenge for both of us is when it came to 20 wishes, all of our wishes were for other people, not ourselves. It is difficult for moms and grandmoms to take time to think of themselves only. We are so attuned to everyone else coming first. I went to a fortune teller once(and only once-and one of my Scottish Spirit Guides immediately chided me for spending the money) and she said: You always take care of others first. You need to take the time to put yourself first now, for a change.
    It does not come natural for moms and grandmoms to do so- as you stated.

  6. Pingback: Let that Little Light Shine | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  7. Pingback: The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

