Let that Little Light Shine

What is it about a candle that can so instantaneously lift a mood or make a regular moment seem special? My artist hubby and I were talking about Joseph Campbell last night over dinner, and he shared that he had seen on one of JC’s documentaries that the first use of fire was ceremonial. We talked about our surprise, thinking that it had been used for food and warmth. But in asking myself about the deep inner warmth that comes up for me when I light a candle, this fact about our human development makes sense.

The Illuminata Intentional Art Circle is utilizing that age old link to fire in our candle collage project. We are looking inward to see what it is that we might want to focus on during the upcoming holiday season as the year comes to an end.  It is so easy to get wrapped up in worry about finances, obligations to family and friends, or the balancing game between saying yes to what is important to us and saying yes to what we think we should be doing.  By determining what is important to us and regularly showing up to a reminder about it, we up our chances of bringing that into our lives.

There has been some discussion in the comments of the last blog entry about how women often want for others and wish for others. I think this is an important idea for us to consider. I believe it comes from our relational nature. We crave connections. And it is exactly this nature that makes the holidays difficult to navigate. We can easily get wrapped up in what others feel is the right way to spend our money or time, and in the process forget the things we value the most. Sometimes, though, what is most important are the people in our lives. This project attempts to help us balance giving of ourselves without losing ourselves.

Some of you may be ready to share your Illuminata Candles by now. I invite you to leave a link to a blog post about your candle in the comments below and to visit links you find there. You are also welcomes to post your pictures or comments on the FB page for this blog. 

If you don’t have a candle collaged and want to make one, come back to the post when you have it made so that they will all be in the same place. I will be posting those links on my FB as well so that we can support one another.

I look forward to seeing your candles.  Later in the week, I will post an article about how I use mine and the different ways others have found to use theirs over the years.

I would also love to hear what you have decided to make your focus through the end of the year and what stresses you are managing as the year comes to an end.  Feel free to share in the comments below.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Intentional Art and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Let that Little Light Shine

  1. Jamie Burch says:

    I’ll be picking up my candle tomorrow! Going to go through my collage stuff tonight and think about my intention. This is a beautiful post, Rae! Thank you for sharing your candle story and this project. 🙂

  2. Sofia says:

    I have my candle. I am working on the intention of self love.

Leave a Reply

