From Disaster to Delish: How a Little Creativity Saved the Day

Twas the night before Thanksgiving and all through the house, not a creature was stirring… because they were all out buying last minute things to cook for the next days great feast.   While in my pj’s all snugly and warm stood over my bread machine watching an artisan loaf being formed.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

My Art Every Day Month project for the day has been an exercise in going with the flow. I had every plan of making a gorgeous Harvest Bread treat for my friends from Freedom Harvest Farms.  So I dusted off my Super Magical Bread Making Machine and followed the instructions on the box for preparing it into dough.

Usually a machine just helps someone do something they already know how to do, but it does it quicker.  Bread machines are magical. I don’t know what it does in there once the door shuts, but dang it is busy. Shaped the dough into a sheath of wheat and popped it in the oven.

But that is where the Universe had other plans for my special little bread sculpture. Well, maybe I shouldn’t blame it on the Universe. It was purely my fault for wanting to do more than one thing at a time.

I started blogging (have I ever told you how much I love writing and crafting this space with you?!) And before I knew it, the bread started to smell good…from the other side of the house. I knew right away. Disaster had struck. Burnt!

 

But you see, giving up just isn’t how I roll.  And to be honest neither is throwing away food. So I let out a big whiny…Oh no! And dear artist hubby said…Hey, slap some peanut butter and seeds on it and you have a bird feeder! He thought he was joking. I thought he was genius!

 

I emptied the peanut butter and crushed up some raw crackers that were past their prime but still thick with yummy nut munchies…and whala! The best bird snacker ever made.

The hostess loved it and now the birdies and squirrelies at Freedom Harvest Farm will be enjoying a feast fit for….well, fit for the birds….and squirrels.  See what a bit of creativity and a couple of heaping tablespoons of peanut butter can do!

Luckily I had another easy dish up my sleeve. With the oven already warm, I tossed together a few items and walked away in 45 minutes with a corn casserole to knock your socks off.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Whether you are in the U.S. and enjoying Thanksgiving, or elsewhere in the world (as I know many of my readers are), I wish you a day filled with reflections on what you are grateful for this day. You are on my list, along with this space.

I will be lighting my Illuminata candle in the morning as I attempt another harvest bread. I will be holding onto the intention of keeping my humor with me when things get tough, of enjoying my loved ones, and honoring my desire for quality time to myself here and there.

I am taking off from my blog for a few days to be with my family. Yay, I get self-care points. But I will post pics of my bread on FB so you can see if I get it out of the oven in better shape than this one.  Come over and see the results. Wish me luck!

The glow of connections at Freedom Harvest Farms. Stars above, fairy children running through the night, and lots of good conversation.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in AEDM and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to From Disaster to Delish: How a Little Creativity Saved the Day

  1. have a wonderfully Happy Thanksgiving. What a great idea for salvaging that bread. The feathered creatures and squirrels will rejoice.

  2. LOVE it Rae! See? That’s what I’m talkin’ about…thinking creatively in all that we do! You rock! Have a GREAT Thanksgiving, Fly Girl!

  3. Cat @ sea.sky.stone. says:

    There are days when it seems peanut butter will solve anything. I applaud your thinking-fast-on-your-feet creativity… and wow, does that corn casserole look yummy! Happy Thanksgiving and Happy Day 24 of AEDM 🙂

Leave a Reply

