Intentional Art-ivity: Self-Care List

John Lennon once said, “Life is what happens when we are busy making other plans.”  Well, life has certainly been happening.  I have had a few obstacles placed in front of me the last couple of days that are going to take me away from my blog this week.

Some are exciting things like a HUGE show coming up and the opportunity to teach a class. But some are not so great. I have a family member who I am helping through an illness. And darn it if my computer and oven didn’t go out in the same day.

But I am taking it all in stride, because it gives me inspiration to practice rigorous self-care. When I was about to graduate college in the early ’90’s, a mentor of mine encouraged me to make a list of ways I might take care of myself or ways to practice self-love. She encouraged me to write 100 things I could do, explaining that I could make them as small or as large as I wanted and that nothing was out of reach.

It took awhile, but I made the list. It was one of the more enriching things I ever did for myself. I hung it on the wall next to the door inside my bedroom. Whenever I felt overwhelmed, anxious, or like filling my life with something better, I turned to my list. It taught me to choose myself. It taught me to work my way out of difficulty with grace. It taught me to slow down and become present. It taught me serenity.

Intentional Art-ivity

As thing get a bit more hectic in my life, I am going to up my self-care by creating a new list. I want to invite you to join me as part of the Illuminata Intentional Art Circle. Make your list as long or short as feels right to you. I would also like to invite you to choose a symbol to represent your self-caring. Any metaphor with aligns you with the essence of caring for yourself will work. Include that symbol into a work of art and drop a link to it here in the comments.

Remember that you can be creative about how you use your symbol. Maybe you don’t have time to do a drawing or don’t have the energy to do a painting. Think about assemblage as an option or gathering a few objects together that remind you of self care to create an inspiration station. Even in approaching this creative art-tivity, practice self-care.

I want to leave you with my newest work of art and a shot of my own Illuminata candle. I have been sitting with it in the evenings sometimes while I make my art and carrying it from the studio into the kitchen when I cook dinner sometimes. I have to say that after doing this for several years, the years I have included this little ritual have been overall more joyful than the one when I haven’t.

 

Before too long, I will be posting a list of links to other’s candles. I want to get a few more entries and give you guys time to do that if you want to be included.

I will be adding my art to the Art Every Day Month link list. I encourage you to check out some of the art others are leaving.

In the spirit of self-care, I will be away until next week. But when I return, there will be lots to share. So wish me luck on my craft show and if you are so inclined, include my family in your prayers as we all work to help our loved one get back to health. Give yourself a hug from me, and know that even as your days grow more busy, you are supported here.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in AEDM, ARTivity, Intentional Art, Self-Care, self-love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Intentional Art-ivity: Self-Care List

  1. Carolyn Dube says:

    Love your candle & your art! Sending you good thoughts for this week – for the show, your family’s health, and an extra dose of patience for your computer.

  2. Pingback: The Paint Is Cracking on My Painting :: Gaia Gallery

  3. You are a wise women to know and understand that if you don’t take care of yourself you will have nothing to give others. You will come back stronger and more will be blessed by your renewed, creative energy!

  4. Take care of yourself my friend. The candle art, clever! You are always coming up with creative possibilities.

  5. Jessica says:

    Thinking of you this week!

  6. Jamie Burch says:

    Thinking of you and keeping you and your family in my prayers. Good luck with your art show! Thank you so much for taking the time to share your self-care advice.

    Take care,
    ~Jamie

  7. galyn says:

    wanted to tell you about a site where there is a craft that might interest you–item is called inro-hung from sash of Japanese kimono-obi;I ended up on that site fr a search for fairies and elves;this craftslady also makes little fairies–
    http://katyswanderings.blogspot.com/2009_04_01_archive.html

Leave a Reply

