He Grabbed My Face {and ran off with it}

Several months ago, in the middle of the night, I discovered my blog was visited by artboy68.  I might not usually remember being visited by an individual, but around here, I mostly get artgirls.  So word that a male was on the premises piqued my interest.

I did what any respectable blogger with a curious nature would do, I stalked him.  It didn’t take long to figure out artboy68 was Scott Hamilton, a blogger and artist from British Colombia.  A quick search found that Hamilton is working on a project which has him creating 100 portraits in 20 weeks.

copyright Rachél Payne

I spent a few weeks following his nearly daily posts of the portraits he has worked on.  What an endeavor! I discovered that his subjects seemed to be complete strangers that he chose from the internet, often from visitors and commenters on his blog or Twitter.

I loved catching glimpses of the lives of other bloggers in his tiny portraits. What of each person would his artist’s eye decide to capture? How might his hand work to bring new life to the image he chose to represent?

Last week, all access to technology in my home pretty much shut down. My laptop crashed and my backup laptop didn’t want to help out. Then my phone mysteriously stopped showing my Google Reader subscriptions. I was cut off.

I enjoyed the time away, but longed for the old tech routine I had established. So first chance I go, I hopped back on the merry-go-round. That’s when I discovered that artboy68 had made me his 44th portrait.  I giggled for nearly 15 minutes. What a gift!

Head over to the 100 Faces Project and say, “Hi” to my face. You’ll notice it is smiling with delight and glowing with gratitude.  Thanks, artboy68…. hope you enjoy my little gift to you as much as I enjoyed yours to me.

artboy68 by Rachél Payne

For an UPDATE on my portrait, check out the Special Delivery from ArtBoy68.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Connecting and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to He Grabbed My Face {and ran off with it}

  1. How marvelous and fun! I love that you did one of him! Do you watch “Work of Art” on Bravo, where artists are challenged each week, much like “Project Runway”? Something a little like that happened like that last night — they do repeats if you get that channel. I bet he is loving your response tribute. Hooray for Rae! Hooray for Artboy! What a wonderful way to start my day! By the way, I did your second assignment, with a list of things I enjoy on pink paper glued to a heart shape box, with hearts around the edges. I am planning on putting strips of my enjoyments inside and taking them out whenever I want to “enjoy” up my life. Thank you for livening up my holiday season.

  2. What a fun experience for you and a delightful post to read, not to mention the great portrait you did of artboy68!

  3. artboy68 says:

    Rae this is fabulous! Thank you so much!

  4. Pingback: Rachel Payne draws artboy68 « 100 portraits

  5. hellenjc says:

    Nice job Rae…very nice job 🙂

  6. How fun! I never would have thought of turning the tables on him! He seems to have appreciated it!

  7. how wonderful!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! great portrait, Rae!! xo

  8. Rae, this is so cool!!!! Love it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

