Looking Back on 2011

As the last day of 2011 winds down, I feel the roots of various memories and experiences reaching out to touch me.  I wouldn’t have known last year at this time that my life would look like it does. I had no idea that 2011 would be the year I would fly out on my own and build my business. That is not to say that many of today’s manifested dreams weren’t seedlings last year, but I just didn’t realize growth could happen with such force and speed.

I remember with great clarity the moment the tide turned. I had a “this could change my life” experience when I signed up for the Flying Lessons e-course with Kelly Rae Roberts.  Who knows if it was the course or the timing or a combination of the two. Either way, it happened. I felt like a quickening took over, and before I knew it, one event after another led me to take one of the biggest risks of my life, to making a living as a creative entrepreneur.  Suddenly, I was at the doorstep to my dreams.

I feel like a lot of things have changed inside me as well. There is a confidence I feel that I haven’t known before. Not that I haven’t been confident, but more like my confidence grew in new areas of myself.  My mind feels sharp and my ability to make decisions is stronger than I ever remember.

That again, seemed to come to me in a moment’s big “aha!”  I realized that sometimes taking action is braver than staying put. Somehow, I had that backwards. But this year has  been about not being afraid to change my mind in order to “save face” with someone.

That is a huge lesson for me. I know that I am pretty good at coming up with ideas, but I have to be willing to adjust that original idea to help it become the best it can be. That is something I practice as an artist. Sometimes a certain medium is not the right one for the image I want to express, so I have to explore and change course. As a writer, editing is essential.  But in life, when I have committed to a course and found it is not right for me, I often get inundated by inner criticisms about being a quitter or not following through.  I struggled with that often in 2011, and with each episode, it got easier for me. I am, more and more, seeing the creation of my life in the same way I do my art.  To me that connection is essential.

I want to end 2011’s Goodbye Old Year post by thanking you. Some of you may just be finding me, others have been here from the beginning or somewhere in between. You may have found me through Jamie Ridler‘s Wishcasting Wednesdays and Full Moon Dreamboards, through my guest blog with Wellness with Kate, a blog hop like Practical Magic Blog Party or the Spreading Our Wings, or through something like Art Every Day Month, or artboy68’s 100 Portraits.  How ever you have found me, I am glad you did. You make this space special and have been a big blessing to my life.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I would love to hear about your 2011. What shines, what did you learn, what do you leave behind, and what do you invite with you into your glorious New Year?

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Connecting, creative arts biz, Mandalas and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Looking Back on 2011

  1. julie says:

    My business gets so busy in December I feel like I’ve really lost touch with the flygirls. It was (and is) an amazing experience! Happy New Year, Rae!

  2. It has been an incredible year of watching you bloom, from over here on the sidelines. Your confidence, your joy at this stage of your journey is empowering and contagious. I’m looking forward to 2012 as it unfolds one day at a time.
    walk in beauty.

  3. One of the best things about my 2011 was finding you, Rae! Your red-headed angel with the crow helped me empower my moving my art studio and office back home with courage and heart. And your Illuminata project helped make my holiday season more creative and fun. I am looking forward to your etsy store, so I can buy my red-headed angel for real! I just posted my 300th Fun Thing to Do with a New Year’s theme — actually deciding on a theme for the New Year instead of resolutions. Mine is “Exploring Possibilities”, which is something you do so very well! You can see that post at celebratepossibilities.blogspot.com Here’s to an astonishing 2012 for all of us! Hooray!

  4. artboy68 says:

    Very happy new year to you, Rae! All the best in 2012!

  5. sofia says:

    2011 has been a good year. continuing to be honest with myself and others is a theme I want to continue into 2012. continuing to paint and meet other artists is at the top of my list as well. i am so glad that I took a chance last summer with Kelly Rae Roberts. that chance has open a whole new world of love and friends I never knew could come to me. i have been blessed in so many ways. Happy New Year Rae you are a special lady!

Leave a Reply

