Crafting the Journey

I love this time of year. It is the perfect season for planting dream seeds and pulling a few weeds.  As a Creative Spirit, I will take any opportunity for crafting the journey of my life, so turning the page on a new year allows me to focus in on what is important to me and plan for making that a reality.

Years ago, I studied under a Cherokee woman, Grandmother Danawa, who brought to life for me the ways of the Medicine Wheel.  As I sit of the beginning of this year, I am reminded of the Eagle who sits in the place of the East.  Grandmother told stories of how Eagle’s eyes could see far into the future.

I have been imagining myself soaring high in a clear sky, wings effortlessly stretched out to catch the Wind. My eyes scan the horizon for the place where my dreams wait.  Over the last several days, I have felt connected with the future, and as I make my way through the week, am endeavoring to gather them together each dream seed so that I may tend to them. They are treasures.

Part of my flying story has to do with looking to the past as well. So many of the dreams I visioned for myself over the last several decades are with me today. It is easy to forget to honor them, but I think dreams must like to be acknowledged when they have helped you arrive in the places you have hoped to go.

This kind of visioning is one of the ways I craft my journey. For some, it may just sound like a story, but inside the theatre of my imagination, it is a reality. I believe in my dreams.  That is to say, I choose to put energy into reaching for them.  These dreams will be what guides my action.  Action is, then, what takes them from my inner landscape and fleshes them out for all the world to see.

I want to encourage you to use Eagle’s eyes to look into your future. Make note of what you find there, record it in a journal, on a dreamboard, and speak it into reality. The more you can bring it from the inside to the outside, the more life you will breathe into it.

Take action:  Have a dream you want to claim?  Use the comment section to speak it into reality.  Also….I have started a new tradition on the Creativity Tribe Facebook page.  I would love for you to help me make it fly.  In return, I think it could help you fly.  So spread your wings, Creative Spirits, and join the conversation over there.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, Dreams, Intentional Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Crafting the Journey

  1. My dream is to combine calm energy with creative adventures. I also want to continue reaching out to others to help them understand how energizing and healing fun and creativity really and truly are! Hooray! Yahoo! Yippee yo yo YO! Thank you, Rae, for being a catalyst in my creative journey and for inspiring so many others.

  2. Rae – You are an AMAZING writer. I feel privileged to join you on your journey and witness your dreams as they become reality. My dream right now is to become all that I was created, by God, who I believe is The Creator of all, to be. I have spent too much of my life in victim mode, instead of claiming the victory I believe I have in Christ. One of my favorite things about the Creativity Tribe is that we are free to state our truth and not worry about offending anyone or being judged. We are an amazing group of women and it is no accident that we have been brought together on this journey called Life! We all have so much we can learn from each other and we are stronger when we reach out and celebrate the unique individuals each of us are! xo

    • Rae says:

      Thanks, Kathleen. I love to write. I think it was one of the first things I felt good at. I appreciate your support. I feel you on this journey with me and think of you often…my tea angel sits on my desk, inspiring my creativity. 🙂

Leave a Reply

