Cultivating Clarity

My most favorite thing about life is creating it, day by day, moment by moment, with each breath, each relationship, and each word. In my early 20’s, I spent several years exploring the power of words. I studied theories about how we talk to one another, how words create reality, and how stories can heal us. What I learned shaped the woman I am today and my approach to crafting life.

Rounding the bend on a new year has offered me many opportunities to fine tune the life I live. I have been celebrating the beginning of 2012 in ways that put into words and symbols the direction I wish to go. On New Year’s Eve, I hosted a sacred fire party at my home. My friends and family gathered around to release what no long served them from the past and to claim their intentions for what is to come.  I had been struggling to find just the right word or phrase to guide me into 2012, but as my friend Irene Jaan from Travel Creatives shared her intentions, a word came to me.

It is so strange how we arrive at what drives us. For me, it felt as if the word shot right from the fire and into my heart. Even as I write about it, my mind travels down to the center of my chest to access it, like a seed waiting to bloom.

The word that came to me that night was Clarity, and I have been dreaming on what it means to me since then. It has lots of layers, and with the meaning also comes symbols and metaphor that help flesh it out.

For me it means clarity of what is right for me in my life, of my vision for myself and my business. It means actions that are succinct and conserve energy; relationships in which I can be authentic and hold clear, loving boundaries. Clarity also represents a simplicity of material objects and a quality to the foods I consume, so that considered holistically, my word for 2012 has the ability to touch all aspects of my life.

I created an art doll to remind me of my relationship with Clarity.

This is the first year I have chosen just one word. I was inspired by a movement that has caught on in the blogosphere. It began with one woman, Ali Edwards, choosing One Little Word. Now Ali offers year long courses to help you explore your word and even when you might not want to take her course, offers inspirational thoughts and activities. I signed up for One Little Word 2012 and have been very impressed with the first week’s offering. She’s a class act.  (Hope you will consider joining it. It is affordable and looks like lots of fun!)

If you would like to read more inspiring posts about the power of one little word, head over to the FlyTribe blog…yes, that fabulous group of creative business owners I keep talking about finally has a blog. Yay! And it looks like it will be worth following (hint).  You can find a whole nest of blog post gathered there by Fliers! Just click on the badge below.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

62 Responses to Cultivating Clarity

  1. Rae, I just love all that you bring to our tribe. Thank you so much for your openness, and for putting together this blog hop! Clarity. Nice word.

  2. chelle says:

    Hello Rae, interesting that your word ‘clarity’ came so clearly to you! Happy 2012, thanks for putting all this together, tremendous work!!

  3. Lori Moon says:

    Rae – thanks for all of your hard work to bring the Fly Tribe blog to life and for your hard work on the word hop. Your post is inspiring and I am excited to follow how clarity helps to carry your through 2012

  4. Ann Marie says:

    Rae, just let me say right up front, how amazing I think you are. In all ways, but especially in your soul. I knew this from the first day I met you in San Antonio. You are a woman of purpose, thought and love. Thank you so much for all you’ve done for our Tribe. And, thank you too for being my friend. Love you. See you in a couple of days.

  5. Sofia says:

    Rachel. You mean so much to me. I feel better for knowing you and your beauty. Your smile warms my heart and your words resonate to my core. I am so proud to know you and so proud of your courage. It takes a strong woman to let go and dive into an ocean of uncertainty as you did last year. Your doll is beautiful and I pray it brings you the clarity you seek. Thank you for driving this bus I am having such a great time riding along! xxx

  6. Kathy May (@kathymaydesigns) says:

    Rae- You are such a Hero, not only in your wisdom and courage, but for all that you do and have done for us these past months!!! I can’t wait to see where your journey takes you next! Wishing you an amazing 2012!!!!

  7. Rae, this is so beautiful and well written. I love how accessible your writing is. Stopping by is always an inspiration. Thanks for everything you do to bring joy, insight, and clarity into the world! Am fortunate to be soaring with you as part of the FlyTribe. 🙂

  8. Jamie Burch says:

    Wonderful word choice, Rae! The artwork you created for your word is gorgeous! I wish you many happy blessings this year. Thank you for being such a kind and generous spirit. *hugs*

  9. tinachicky says:

    Rae, I love your word…..Clarity……. It resonates with me as well. Sometimes it’s so hard to see clarity when there can be so much clouding your vision. Do you read Pixie Campbell’s blog/site? I think you would very much resonate with her. 🙂 http://www.pixiecampbell.com/

  10. Mary says:

    Can’t thank you enough for your contribution to the Fly Tribe. The blog is amazing and so are you. Wishing all good things for you as you seek “clarity ” in 2012! XO

  11. Clare Docherty says:

    Rae, you are a true inspiration to our Fly Tribe! I love your word – Clarity – and it reminded me of the meaning of my name (Clare = clear, bright) and that it is something I also strive for. I hope that 2012 brings you clarity and that you continue to be a shining light to all of us. XX

  12. Awesome Word Rae. I hope 2012 brings you all the clarity you desire! much love to you. xoxo

  13. Jill says:

    A great word choice and I love the creation you made to go along with your word/intention, Rae. Clarity is needed in so many areas and it will help you really focus on what is important in your life. You are an inspiration and I hope your year is a special one.

    Jill

  14. Absolutely awesome word! I love the images and creations you used, too. Have a wonderfully creative 2012 – full of clarity!! :). Happy Flying!

  15. houseofstars says:

    Hi Rae! Love the art doll you created for your intention this year. I also really like the idea of releasing what no longer serves you, I think I may need to do that too! I feel that you bring so much clarity to the fly tribe–thank you for all that you do and for continually providing so much inspiration. Wishing you clarity throughout 2012!

    • Rae says:

      Thanks Kat! The art dolls are a dear love of mine…I just having had a chance to focus on them lately. Now I can and can’t wait to share more with the world.

  16. love your clarity muse, she is a beauty, as are you!

  17. Kelly Lahl says:

    Rae, you are such a positive soul. Clarity is wonderful and the doll is brilliant. love.

  18. julie says:

    I find it so amazing that I have yet to see a word repeated yet. So far all the ones I have read have been different. Here’s to clarity in 2012!

  19. rosemary says:

    Rae, your muse is so iconic of you. I love that there is motion and moment and space to absorb the clarity however it may come to you, from your head to toe. Love watching these dreams become reality for you and the fly tribe members.

    • Rae says:

      Thanks, Rosemary…I love having you as part of the Creativity Tribe. You have been one of the first supporters and have stuck by me from the beginning…but that is no surprise!

  20. edustory says:

    wonderful word…looking forward to seeing how it unfolds for you!

  21. Carol says:

    Rae, I am so grateful for everything you have done for our Fly Tribe. You have been a real blessing to our group and I’m looking forward to what 2012 and beyond will have for all of us and for you, who gave up your job for your true career as an artist. Fly Girl! Love your muse!

  22. Ursula says:

    Hi Rae, I only had time for a few hops tonite, but I was dying to see your word, and read all about it. Clarity seems perfect for you- you seem to bring that to the rest of us too 😉 Thanks so much for organizing this Hop (and all the other ideas you have been brewing!!), it is an amazing journey we are all on together. I am so happy to be part of it!! Hugs and Happiness to you in 2012!!

  23. Mary says:

    I love the word clarity and your post about the word – it sounds clear as a mountain spring to me. Your artwork is inspiring and I am glad you are enjoying the One Little Word class by Ali Edwards. I have been following her for years and she is really special and brings out the best in people.

  24. Christina says:

    Rae, Clarity is such a perfect word for 2012!! Happy flying!! 😉

  25. I enjoyed learning a little more about you in this post and also what the word clarity means to you. It is a great word for you in 2012 and I am excited to see what you discover!

  26. Suki says:

    I love the way focusing on one word can expand to incorporate so much, while keeping a focus at the same time. Clarity works beautifully in all the ways you mention and creates some lovely images for me.

  27. Carmen Patti says:

    Hi Rae, I’m slowly getting through our blog hop, and enjoying each and every one….But a special thank you goes out to you, not just for organizing this one, but being sooo suportive to each and every one of us. There are certain people that have that gift of making people feel like they are are capable of great things and I know you are one of those people…I hope Clarity will carry you through this year, and we continue to benefit from your support!

    • Rae says:

      Ahhh, Carmen! Thank you. This group and this hop are close to my heart. I love being able to give. The support I have gotten in return is phenomenal.

  28. Love your word and the meanings it has for you. I can’t wait to see how you embody CLARITY in 2012. I know it’s going to be a great year for you! Thanks so much for organizing the Blog Hop. I’m enjoying it tremendously, albeit slowly.

    On a more personal note — thanks so much for sticking by me during my recent illness. You’ll never know how much your concern meant to me. xoxo

  29. thank you for all that you do. I love the idea of the fire with friends and family. a beautiful way to end and start.

  30. Susan Walls says:

    Thanks for sharing your journey will of us. We are a better Fly Tribe with you in it!

  31. Clarity – I would never have thought of this word – awesome choice. Thanks for organising the blog hop.

  32. Hi Rae, I don’t usually do the “One Little Word” thing either but “clarity” was my word for last year. It served me well and I hope it does so for you too. I’m not sure I’m ready to let it go actually. Maybe it’s my word for the decade? Ah well, we can share 🙂

  33. Pingback: Freak Flag {let it fly} | Creativity Tribe

  34. Pingback: A Puppy Named Clarity « Creativity Tribe

  35. Pingback: Bridging the Years « Creativity Tribe

  36. Pingback: Words for 2013 « Creativity Tribe

Leave a Reply

