Artist Date for Four: Carnival Caravan

I live with three other artists, so when one of us has a craving for something fun, it isn’t difficult to find someone to play with. This weekend, my roommate Lisa was jumping to go to the carnival. So like a band of gypsies, we got all gussied up and headed for the big lights.

I have to admit, I have been wanting to go and dreading it all at the same time. When I was in my 20’s, I went to a carnival that has up until now ruined them for me. The crowd got aggressive, and I almost got my arm broken. Where’s the fun in that!

I have been all about challenging out dated ways of thinking these days, so when I saw the ferris wheel from the freeway last weekend, I began dreaming of carnival art. I got interested in carnival art through Polyvore last year. I had fun blending items to create carni-centric sets.

Kaziah's Dark Nature

Kaziah’s Dark Nature by rashamaria featuring black jewelry

When Lisa hinted that she wanted to go, I saw this as my chance to get an up-close look at the carnival scene and create a new memory about them all at the same time. I didn’t have a working camera with me, so I grabbed my cell phone and started clicking. The whole thing was overall pretty small, but it seemed every inch was packed with something interesting.

 Artist Dates can be energizing to your imagination and put a new zing in your art. They are great to do with friends, but sometimes even more valuable on your own. Either way, I can’t tell you how much they have brought to my life. Over the years, they have made me grow beyond what I thought I could.  The most impressive aspect of an Artist Date is that rather than learning and healing through difficulty, as we so often are forced to do, the curiosity and adventure that is par for the course helps you learn through play.  What more could you ask for?

Now there’s some joy and happiness for you?!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, Self-Care, wellness and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Artist Date for Four: Carnival Caravan

  1. Suse says:

    There is NOTHING like a carney at night for photographs!!! Love em!!

  2. Mary says:

    Love this post and your pics! Your enthusiasm is contagious. Thanks!

  3. Good Morning Sistar, you all look truly amazed at the sights and sounds…thank you for sharing.

  4. Jamie Burch says:

    Wonderful post! Love the photos with all the happy faces and pretty lights. So magical…

  5. What great photos- so dreamy & colorful. Sounds like a perfect artist date!

  6. Sofia says:

    the pics are great Rae! and your willingness to create a new memory around and old one is so awesome! you inspire.

  7. Pingback: The Eye of the Beholder | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  8. Pingback: Things are Looking Up | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

