The Eye of the Beholder

This weekend when my roommates and I had an Artist Date at the carnival, I dove in and took a ton of pictures.  The fun kept going at home with a few visual adjustments.

I mostly just cropped them and tweeked the colors.

I tried to make the image as dynamic as what I saw and also to capture the iconic feel of the more historical or popular rides.

Then, I decided to just play with the program I was using to make the adjustments. This picture of the ferris wheel behind a mesquite tree seemed like it might just have more to offer.

Tweeking it made it more dynamic.

By playing with contrast and color, I was able to tell a totally different story.  I wonder if anyone would see a ferris wheel here at all. To me it resembles sunlight. What do you see?

This one outing brought such a sense of adventure and satisfaction, that I decided to invest in myself and got a new camera. I hope to share more cool pix soon.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Connecting, Creative Living and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to The Eye of the Beholder

  1. Aren’t digital cameras and programs like Photoshop the best! I can spend hours playing around with all of the options. What you put together here is so fun, Rae! It is obvious you had a great time on your artist date! I can’t wait for a Fly Tribe artist date!

  2. Jamie Burch says:

    These photos are so magical and beautiful! I love them! Yes, that one does make me think of sunlight. So glad you invested in yourself and got that camera. Can’t wait to see what you do next! Have fun…

  3. rrchase says:

    I love your photos Rae!! Ferris Wheels are among my favorite things to photograph, they are so dramatic and a little scary too.

  4. Carol says:

    Rae, your photos are fantastic of the ferris wheel. I have photoshop and a really good camera, now I just need to learn how to really use both to my advantage.

Leave a Reply

