Busy Bee

I am happy when I am busy, and recently, I have been very busy.  Some of this is for play and other is for work, but no matter how you slice it, busy.  I thought I would share some of what I have been doing through pictures (’cause me and my new camera have been hanging out a lot together).

I have begun showing some of my artwork at the First Friday ArtWalk, locally. It is a great way to get a response for what people like and is tons of fun. I have several artist friends who show as well.  This week, my hubby and I had fun with making pipe cleaner crowns during the show. I have been making pipe cleaner head wear for years now and Eric was just brave enough to show off my mohawk. The art made for great conversation starters and jacked the energy up so that our table was buzzing with activity.

I talk about developing my business a lot here. I suppose it feels like I  live and breathe it these days. One of the themes I have been following is developing art doll workshops and eventually offering my art dolls in an Etsy shop.  Tomorrow, I am pitching some ideas for a three day workshop to the Art Center of Corpus Christi. So I sat down and did a mock up of a project I am hoping we will do. The big doll’s name is Cassie. The little book tells a story about her and the fairy who lives with her. I had a blast creating it and am already exploring ideas for more. The little box is an Altoid tin…or at least it was, now it is a doll house.

Amidst all the work I have been doing, I have also included healthy doses of self-care. Every couple of weeks, I meet up with my friend and fellow blogstress, Rosemary, at a little lunch spot that features magical cakes. We sit, nearly always in fascination of our friendship, and quietly take in the exquisite examples of cakes that surround us.

Today we talked about photography and caught up on the synchronicities that never fail to come into our lives. Outside the cafe was a tree in full bloom. And although Rosemary was in a hurry to get back to work, we stopped to enjoy its beauty.

That is when I found a little friend who is as busy as I am. I am printing her up to remind me of the sweetness that is sure to come from all that I am doing. When I saw how perfectly she came out, I couldn’t wait to share her with you too.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Art Lunch, Connecting, creativity, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Busy Bee

  1. Carol says:

    I’m really impressed about your bee photos! I still haven’t mastered my camera that I purchased in October. There just seems so much to learn. I love the girl on the table without arms…did you make her?

    • Rae says:

      Carol, I didn’t make her. She was rescued from Goodwill several years ago (along with a friend of hers who only has one arm). They have lived in my studio and she decided she wanted to see the world. So she gets to come to all my art shows. I have dressed in in all her accessories though. Tiny wire crown, wooden key around her neck. She makes me happy and keeps me company. And whispers, “Go, Rae, go!” in my ear!

  2. Pingback: Serendipity and Synchronicity unfolded in my path this past week « Finding1sself's Blog

  3. Really cool head crowns! And your macro photography is awe-inspiring…

  4. Lynda says:

    Your crowns are so fun. I think you need a little tutorial up for your blog readers with school age kids. Your art is lovely too. Those boxes are so cute!

Leave a Reply

