Creativity Zones: Creating a Workable Mess

I am not a neat freak, but boy do I have an appreciation for people who excel at being tidy. I don’t live in simplicity. An eclectic atmosphere is more my style. It stimulates my senses, energizes my imagination, and makes me happy. But, when my funky flow gets in the way of functionality, I know I am in trouble.

Last October when I began the push to have a full-time art biz, I knew my lackadaisical approach to managing materials had to be reigned in a bit. I rearranged the family studio and began paying attention to the rhyme and rhythm of my creative tendencies. This past Monday marked four months since I jumped into my soul proprietorship, and although most of my work is going pretty smooth, I decided to fine tune a few areas that I thought might help increase productivity without sacrificing inspiration.

A few weeks back, I hired an organizational coach to help me get our home in order. In fact, Lauren Cantetore-Causey has worked with me on a few occasions when I wanted to increase our home’s organize. I love working with her. Her process is gentle, addressing both feelings and function. Most importantly for me, Lauren understands and appreciates the creative mind and does not try to bully its organic, wild nature into submission. This is a revelation for me. I have been so far into the realm of creativity that I have often struggled with organization.

So, yesterday morning, Lauren came over to my studio, and we began dreaming, planning, and reorganizing. Just before she arrived, I captured a tour of my studio. I hope you will take a look. I will be offering updates and tips for optimizing creativity zones as we make our way through the different layers of the studio. I hope you will join us on this journey and take advantage of what I am learning and discovering.  Who knows, this may help me flesh out a whole new chapter in my life as an artist.

For more about Creativity Zones:

The Sanctuary of the Studio

Dealing with Books

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Creativity Zones: Creating a Workable Mess

  1. Renee Burke says:

    LOVED the tour and can not WAIT to see the end result! xoxoxo

  2. Loved, loved, loved seeing your studio and all the fun stuff you’ve got going in there!. And I look forward to seeing how you tweak it into your working paradise. What a brilliant and inspiring idea to share your journey – thanks!

  3. Susan Walls says:

    Rae, I gotta tell you, every time I read something you’ve posted or peruse your blog or watch your video today there is something different and magical to learn about you! Layer after layer appears and it’s amazing! Love that you video’d your before and, Rae, alot of the things laying around in your space are the same things laying around in mine! I think our bookcases are duplicated! Can’t wait to see your after! Thanks so much for sharing and for the shout out! (my six year old face is peeking out over your creative organizing to pick up tips!)

  4. fun video…love your studio…I shared this with a friend and she enjoyed it, too…I’m telling her what a great organizer she is….good luck!!!

  5. Joann Loftus says:

    Great video! I love seeing other artists’ studios and yours was no exception. What a great space you have. The bank of huge windows are wonderful and I’m so in love with your chippy white door. I want!! I’m also in the process of trying to re-organize my studio, so this was perfect timing. You’ve inspired me to also do some photographs or video of my process. We’ll share notes and ideas! Thank you, Rae!

  6. Suse says:

    I can hardly wait to see what your studio becomes!!! I definitely need help with mine and spent most of Sunday trying to make a dent in it. I plan to work right alongside you as we organize our creative spaces!!! You have inspired me to finally take the bull by the horns and get this thing under control!!!

  7. Pingback: Shared Abundance {or A Visit from Big Bertha} | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  8. Pingback: March Mandala Madness {Circular Wisdom} | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

