Shared Abundance {or A Visit from Big Bertha}

When someone in your family is enthusiastic about a certain way of life, the other people can’t help but have a bit of that interest rub off on them. Take for example the son whose love of basketball keeps his family up to date with the latest and greatest Jordan fashions or with at least a few of the word tricks that Jeremy Lin has sports lovers the world over punning around with.  Well, the home life of a blogging artist isn’t much different.

My home is jumping with references to my on-line life. Why you would think I had lunch with a counsel of creatives on a daily basis the way I retell jokes or share what is going on in the lives of my favorite bloggers!  And some of those bloggers have become a household name around here. Ask my husband who Jamie Ridler is, and he will tell you in the blink of an eye.  Kelly Rae Roberts? Yep, a given.

Well, something happened last night in my home that will guarantee that for the rest of my life friends and family will at least have an inkling of who Deborah Weber is.  It is one of the stories I will tell over and over again until I am so old that no one will listen (an honestly, I am sure I will still keep on telling my stories).  And from the moment it began, I knew I wanted to share it with you.

Yesterday evening began by me joining my husband and my roommate in the living room. We were deciding where to eat: Mexican, pizza, or the cool new Asian-fusion place that just opened up. One by one, our attentions got pulled away from the gnawing in our stomachs and refocused on Wipeout.  I don’t typically watch mindless television shows, especially when the whole point is to see how creative the makers can be at beating up their contestants, even when the contestants have signed up for it. But something was in the air. I felt pleasantly hyper. We all did. Before we know it, we were cheering and jeering  at the TV, throwing our heads back and rolling with laughter, when, suddenly there was a hard knock at the door. It jolted us quickly back to reality.

My roommate peeked out of the front window, the rest of us sat stone still. When she opened the door, we saw this.

“Wait!” I yelled.  “Don’t touch it!” I bounced back into the same animated craze I had been in during the show. I ran through the house, which I am sure shocked everyone, cuz I… don’t… run. You would have thought I was wearing my Air Jordans the way I bounded into the studio, grabbed by camera, and was at the door. “Move, move!” I wanted desperately to get the UPS guy before he drove away. And I did, but lights in the dark don’t make for good story telling.

Suddenly, I realized I was outside. I was yelling, “Oh my god! It’s here! It’s here!” Bouncing like a teenage cheerleader. My husband came to the door, asking what it was, but all I could do was laugh. I was giddy, high, and starting to feel a little wacky to be honest. Then, I dug deep, took a deep breath and manged to half-shout, “It’s art supplies!!!!”

I reached up with my camera just then and caught his reaction.

Now you could read that in a number of ways. Like, what has this woman done?! She is going to break us. This box is huge, I thought she was cleaning out and organizing the studio….not ADDING to it!  Has she gone nuts?

But let me assure you that it was far from that. You see, hubby is an artist too! This reaction screams, “Holy cow, let’s get this big Bertha of a box inside and bust her open!” And that is just what we did.

~And a treasure waited inside~

I had known the box was coming, but told no one. Deborah emailed me the day after Valentine’s. She shared that she thought of me for these items from her studio because she felt like we had similar taste in the direction we took with our art, and she knew that I had a strong art community around me.

I remembered feeling like Fate had reached out and touched me with her offer. I have been focusing on some of the offerings I want to design for my business. Art books and dolls have been bouncing around in lots of my ideas.  And even though most of my ideas have stayed in my mind, the Universe has been bringing me some awesome opportunities: people calling me to do workshops, retreats, and Summer camps and now, this huge box of supplies showing up.  And let me tell you, it is packed full of goodies that have the potential to be used for those exact things!

But, if you want a better peek in my box of goodies, you will have to wait a few days. I am going to document some of my favorite pieces (and that is not an easy task, because Ms. Deborah didn’t send this girly any junk!) Check back soon for the low down!

Til then, consider sharing some of your own treasures with someone in your life. It is a great way to bless yourself with space and a fresh start while blessing another with the overflowing abundance in your life.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Connecting, free stuff and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Shared Abundance {or A Visit from Big Bertha}

  1. Come on get them out. line them up and show us. Pics, pics, pics !

  2. Jessica says:

    I agree with Helen . . .show us, show us!

  3. Laney says:

    I wanna see! I wanna see!!

  4. Sharing, especially by surprise, is such a gift! Can feel your excitement!

  5. Stacey says:

    Yes me too!!! I want to see!! Awesomely huge box – lucky girl!!

  6. Mary says:

    Turn that camera on and SHARE, girl!!

  7. khyerKim says:

    OKAY NOW I AM jumping in my seat with excitment!!!! lemme seeeee!!!!!!!

  8. Hahahahaha! When you are trying to clean up and unclutter your own studio, is this what is known as a “mixed blessing?” But, sounds like you got cool stuff! Have fun with it! As with everyone else, I’m anxious to see what you got, and what you’ll use it for!

  9. Love the photos. Can’t wait to sill the haul video. You totally need to do a haul video. If you bounced around like a teenager, Big Bertha deserves that!

  10. Mary Sterk says:

    This is so awesome – cant wait to see the contents fellow art supply junkie!!!

  11. Pingback: What’s Inside Box Number One {or Big Bertha Revealed} | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

