March Mandala Madness

When I started dreaming about where I wanted my passion for creativity to lead me, it didn’t take long for me to arrive at the concept of a Creativity Tribe.  I love the idea of gathering together to support one another’s self-expression and working together to make something that was not there before whether that be community or art.

Well, I got an invitation today to join my Fly Tribe sister, Rain Hannah from Honey and Ollie in a month long exploration of the mandala.  Mandalas are circular works of art. They are often symmetrical in their design and were used by Carl Jung as a way of exploring the inner world of the psyche.

I became familiar with mandalas during my undergraduate degree. In fact, a mandala was one of the very first works of art I did as an adult.  I had never thought of myself as an artist. My mother was a painter; my brother drew and painted, but not me. I was an actor. But one day someone showed me a mandala they had designed. I went home and began layering one circle inside the next, one symbol, after another, until I had my first drawing.

A woman at school noticed it as I was putting it inside my locker.  She asked me what art classes I was in. I laughed, saying that I was a theatre student. Then she told me, “Well, you are an artist too.”  That changed my life. I have had a strong connection with the mandala ever since.

So, I decided to join the March Mandalas.  The goal is a mandala every day.  Committing to a practice like this is exciting. Showing up to art on a daily basis is powerful. I want to share my mandalas and my experience with you.  I want to balance that with self-care though. So I am going to post several mandalas at a time. I have a big art festival I am preparing for and making space for getting that art done will set me up for success. Doing the mandala might just get my juices flowing in a way that supports that show as well.

Today’s mandala is the culmination of several days of work. It involves multiple layers of paint that have been molded with a heat gun. The heat transforms the piece. It feels organic and dynamic. The added gold leaf brings a sense of richness and opulence.

This is the process I am using for some of the things I am working on for the Festival of the Arts at the end of March. My dear friend, Rosemary, was one of the first folks to get to  wear my pieces. Yesterday, she surprised me with a blog post about some of the works I have made for her.  I hope to share more of my pieces soon.

I would love for you to join us in doing some mandalas during March. If you do, drop me a post in the comments. Share the love…and your art.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Mandalas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to March Mandala Madness

  1. You write so beautifully Rae!!! And the piece intrigues me so…so rich…the colors are fantastic…honestly as I look at it (now I may be way off base – I am looking at it on my phone) to me it looks like the back of an angel with her wings down and her feet just floating…I get a feeling of warmth like she is holding someone. I may just be crazy but it’s beautiful and such a unique process. One more thing and I will release your blog 😉 you said wear it so how does one wear it? Thanks so much for sharing!

  2. rosemary says:

    so looking foward to seeing a month of mandalas from you. I so see the angel that Stracey is seeing in this new peice you did…just beautiful.

  3. Marie says:

    Beautiful post! I love the story of “discovering” that you are indeed an artist. I look forward to seeing how March Mandalas progress.

  4. Pingback: March Mandala Madness {Circular Wisdom} | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  5. Rae says:

    I see the angel. Awww! Love it!

Leave a Reply

