Fly Tribe Shoe Shots Blog Hop


Shoes, oh my gahd shoes (for all you Liam Sullivan fans.) Who doesn’t love shoes? Shoes are expressive, practical, can make or break an outfit, and can even tell a story.  The shoes I chose for the Fly Tribe Shoe Shots Blog Hop are a pair of Sketchers. I chose them because they have become my HOPE shoes.

Several years ago, I hurt my back. I am not exactly sure how, but the pain was worst than any I had ever felt and went on for about half the year. During that time, I made choices in my life solely based on how it would effect my back, and choosing stable shoes that were easy to put on became one of my priorities. But shopping for shoes when you are flat on your back is not ideal. So, I decided to brave the stores one day, I found a close parking space, headed right for the shoes and decided to try on three pairs. The last pair slipped on like a glove and felt good. I grabbed them and left.

The Sketchers were my everyday shoes for that period of time. I was so grateful to have them. I remember that they felt sporty and they inspired me to dream of the day when I could be more active again. They made me want to explore the world on days when I could barely get off the couch because the pain had me tied down.

I decided to try to use my mind, imagination to help heal my back. I spent time studying breathwork and visualization. I imagined myself easily stretching, feeling confident with the little things like bending and stepping, walking, and reaching.  I envisioned myself visiting places in nature, the mountains sometimes, waterfalls, and the bay that was just down the road from my house. But the most important thing that I dreamed of doing was dancing. Nothing fancy, just moving my body in a soulful, spirited way.

All month as I was preparing for the blog hop, I had no idea what pair of shoes I would feature. Then a few days ago, under a blanket in the corner of my closet, I found the Sketchers. I slipped them on and like a photograph or a video, I was transported to that time in my life, a time when all I had to save me from my very darkest hours was the hope that someday I might find myself walking a different path.

Finding my Hope shoes encouraged me to do something today that I had dreamed of doing when I was bound up in all the pain.  So I invited my roommate Lisa to head down to the bay with me.  The bay is an important part of my life. It boosts my spirits when I am down, offers me delight and renewal, connects me to nature and somehow encourages me to dream bigger.

Going with friends makes it even better. We had a blast!

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Out and About Together

~~~~~~~~~~~~

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Self-Care, Spirituality, wellness and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

21 Responses to Fly Tribe Shoe Shots Blog Hop

  1. Lori says:

    I have those shoes!! We are shoe sisters!

  2. Isn’t it amazing how something like a pair of shoes can transport us back in time, but I so understand what you are talking about! Thanks for sharing this fun story as well as your adventuresome trip with your roomie! Beautiful smiles : )a

  3. What a touching and inspiring post Rae! I’m so glad to have found you via the blog hop. Happy dancing!! xx

  4. As I am now laid up with a hurt back (and if it takes 6 mo. to get better I may commit murder!) this was a great post for me to read…breathing and visualization…yep, gunna do it.

  5. Great post, love your Hope shoes, so good of your friend to join in too.

  6. Mary says:

    Love your post, Rae! It really hit home. I too, went through a very tough time with my back. It was about 10 years ago and took 3 years and 2 surgeries to recover. I am so sorry you had to go through that. Thanks for sharing your shoe story and your lovely friend!

  7. Thanks for sharing your friend in your blog posting. Friends always help make our lives so much better! I’ve never had a pair of Sketchers, but I’ve heard a lot about them.

  8. Love that your post goes beyond just a cute pair of shoes…love this story!!

  9. Very inspiring. Thank you for sharing this!

  10. galyn says:

    There’s something about red shoes…I have a pair too. They’re not sketchers but they’re my ‘go everywhere’ shoes. This is a great blog we can all relate to in one way or another. I was glad to read your visualization technique as I do and have done the same thing in hard times. Doing that keeps a person going and hoping for better days. When we stop hoping and dreaming, we stop living.

  11. Rainy says:

    The sea is where I go to reconnect as well.

  12. Looks like you had a great time!

  13. Pingback: Things are Looking Up | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  14. I have those shoes too!! I love that they are your ‘hope’ shoes & what a great story to share. best wishes for you.

  15. You two are adorable together! Looks like you guys had a good time.

  16. Ursula says:

    That was a great post, Rae! And what a fun way to multi-task! Get your shoe pic and beach time, and fun with a friend!

  17. Beautiful story – it has great meaning to me right now. Thank you!

  18. wini says:

    Great to hear that you had a blast with your friend at the bay!! Nice shoe pic too!

  19. Ann Marie says:

    How fun! You two look so happy. And…cute feet too!

  20. Love the nail polish color!!!

Leave a Reply

