Got Bunting {Art that Flies}

For years, I have been fascinated with little flags. My love of them has been at a distance though. I comb through google searches marveling at the tiny pennants and buntings, but never let myself have them. Don’t know why, just didn’t.

But last month when I decided to go on my own personal art retreat {for one}, I initiated the event by making my first banner.  It read R-E-T-R-E-A-T.  I placed it across one of the book cases in my studio and looked at it every day. Somehow it made my self-crafted happening into a weekend of sanctuary. I loved the sign so much that I haven’t taken it down.

It has made me crave celebration, honoring of the special-ness of certain moments in life. It is such a simple project but brings so much joy.

Yesterday morning as I was thinking about the First Friday Art Walk I will be attending tonight, I wanted to bring an atmosphere of jubilee with me. That’s when I began dreaming about another banner.  I worked on it most of the afternoon and just got it up on my mantle. It is pretty cute!

The little fairy flags on the corners are my favorite parts. As you can tell from the photo, I really like fairies. (Just have to brag on my hubby, Eric, the art doll on the left is one of his assemblages…her face was part of a broken ceramic doll that was about to be sent to doll heaven when he decided to revision her. She has a vase with dried roses for a body, as skirt for a lamp that was falling apart, and a deconstructed dress shoe for a corset. Clever man!)

I am hoping to expand the letters I have over time so that I can create a whole alphabet set with a variety of icons for the ending flags.  Hope to offer that in my Etsy shop eventually…yah, I am going to have an Etsy shop before too long.  Fun, fun!

copyright Rachél Payne

I am already dreaming about a birthday bunting. I am having some friends over for a backyard fire next weekend for a small celebration. I will make sure to snap a few pics to share with you.  Have a great weekend, friends…and a beautiful Easter if you are celebrating.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in creativity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Got Bunting {Art that Flies}

  1. Luna says:

    These are beautiful, Rae!

  2. Cyn says:

    I love your flags:) The Easter one on the mantle is a fantastic idea!

Leave a Reply

