Me at 43 {part one}

Count down to my 43rd birthday! And I thought I might take the lead from a recent post by artist Tracy Verdugo and help you get to know me better. So for the rest of this week, I am going to share a few facts, opinions, and imaginations that I hold dear to my heart.

 Me at 43 {part two}  and Me at 43 {part three}

1. I was born in Austin, Texas (USA) in 1969 just as the hippie movement was in full bloom.

I am the little brunette on the left. Sooo cute...saying CHEESE with my brother (the blonde) and cousins.

2. As a kid, I grew up on a micro-farm where we always had chickens, the occasional cow, and more times than not, a horse.

3. My current favorite vegetable is a pickling cucumber…little, with NO wax.

4. My current favorite fruit is pomegranate, especially delicious when juiced!

5. I have 6 cats: Schatzie, Honey Brown, Gypsy Jubilee, Jellybean, Rascal and Zen.  They were all cats without homes who we have chosen to bring into our family. (What choice did they have? They each stole our hearts!)

Gypsy isn't a baby any more, but she is so small that all the other cats still treat her like one. And she soaks up every moment of it!

Schatzie, which means Sweetheart in German, is a long time family name for cats. The name fits her perfectly. She is a deary!

6. My hubby, Eric, and I are both artists.

7. We met at an SCA camping event where I was dressed as a gypsy storyteller and he, a Renaissance artisan.

8. I started playing with visual art in the early 90’s when I was studying theatre in college.

9.  My all-time favorite comment about my art came this last weekend at the Festival for the arts.  A little boy asked me…Miss, is this real?  I told him…Yes, sweetie, it is. It comes from my imagination.

10.  Sometimes when I am scared, I imagine talking to myself as an old, OLD woman. She is very good a reassuring me that when I get to the end of my life, all will be well and that thing that I am afraid of will seem minuscule.

11. On the first Saturday in February, I decided to go on a Curiosity Quest to see what being a vegetarian might be like.  I haven’t done it perfectly by any means. I eat fish a few times a week, have had chicken 3 or 4 times since I started, and pork once. But I have a deepening appreciation for veggies…and that was the point to begin with.

Well….there’s an appetizer for you.  More to follow in the coming days….leading up to my birthday on Saturday!


About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in creativity, Curiosity Quest and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

12 Responses to Me at 43 {part one}

  1. Good Morning Sistar, What an exciting time this is for you.

  2. Abby says:

    Hi – I am going to be 43 too this June 🙂 Happy birthday to my fellow “1969 -er” Abby

  3. galyn says:

    O…you make me feel old and that makes my bones creak..I think back to what i might have imagined my life to be when I was about 19 and I could not have imagined what has spiraled out. Things exist now that didn’t even exist then (including my kids). And laptops and I could go on and on with such a list. We often despair when we hit 40s–but the 40s were ok for me. A lot of people don’t really decide what to do with themselves until they’re in their forties. And look how exciting everything right now is for you!!

    • Rachél says:

      Galyn, I learned early in life to try to make the most of every day. Took me awhile to live the lesson, but I agree…things are looking pretty awesome. Lovin’ my 40’s.

  4. Rachel, it’s so good to get to know more about you! Happy birthday week!

  5. Hey Rachel! I think we should have a virtual birthday party for you on Saturday! I’ll bring the noise makers! Best wishes!

  6. Pingback: Me at 43 {part two} | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  7. Cyn says:

    Luv this:) and calling it “The Art of Collecting Yourself” I love the part about the child and your art and imagining yourself as and old woman giving yourself advice:) Happy Birthday if I don’t get to wish you on Saturday:)

  8. Pingback: Me at 43 {part three} | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

