Word Trixie {Limericks}

I was never big on structured or formatted poetry. I like the wide, open possibility of free verse.  Besides, I was never much for figuring out puzzles, and that is exactly what structured poetry feels like.  But something changed recently. The shift felt big, like it was something destined, something guided by an alignment of stars. What once seemed like a chore I wasn’t very good at became a game that swept me up and engaged my inner word trixie.

It started with Limericks. Those fun-loving story-ettes that play with rhyme and line. The fun began as Eric and I were waiting in a longer than usual car wash line. He recited a Limerick which triggered me to join in the silliness. That’s all it took. By the time the car wash was done, we had a co-constructed piece.

A man from the coast
Had a garden of toast.
When asked if it’d burn
He said with a turn,
“In the Summer the most.”

Complete non-sense! But that is what I love about it. Hope you are enjoying Poetry Month, I am!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in creativity, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Word Trixie {Limericks}

  1. Caddo Veil says:

    Oh, I like this on too!! It made me chuckle when I was so sleepy I didn’t think I could read!

  2. Elizabeth says:

    I adore nonsense poetry. It seems you have a talent for it! (And the lotus painting at the top of your entry, by the way, is stunning!)

Leave a Reply

