River of Poems

This week’s focus has been poetry. At first, I attributed that to the fact that this is National Poetry Month.  The truth is that poetry just kept finding its way into my life this month and then, I realized it was NPM.

I said earlier in the month I had some big announcements to make….here is one of them.

For my birthday, my friend Amy gave me a poem.  Not just any poem, a poem written about me, just for me.  Along one edge, it spelled out my name. Each line explored some aspect about my life. I was floored!

Now, it might make sense that a good friend could write a very personal poem about another good friend, but that wasn’t the case here.  No, Amy had not written the poem.  She commissioned it. Did I say I was floored?

River of Poems is a fairly new blog that offers exquisitely crafted, individualized poems.

…from River of Poems

Relics from the past and future collage, creativity flowing in one who treasures
Artistic expression in its myriad forms, from a tea party with cats to entire
Communities of fairies slipping through leaves and petals unseen.
Hearing the colors of voices, the palette of emotions freely displayed,
Every nuance of the soul and its dramas unfolding in an imagination
Limitless with the capacity to capture on canvas the healing
Power of an image speaking to the unspoken, celebrating
All the facets of what it means to be alive in this tribe because
Yes, each day is a page of mixed media in the books we are making,
Not one breath extraneous as we find our way, one tiny banner at a time,
Echoing the mandala’s intricate design, every line divine.

Now the BIG SURPRISE… I wanted to share my poem with you, so I asked the writer if I could.  She was thrilled…so much so that she is offering a Creativity Tribe special.

Just in time for Mother’s Day and graduation. 

Offer good through May 2012.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in creativity, Poetry and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to River of Poems

  1. lambertjill says:

    Rae! I love your acrostic poem!!! So beautiful!

    Jill

  2. Pingback: Super Special Secrets {spillin’ the beans} | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

