Deeper in Love {a stranger’s gift}

My first art show is hung.  Stepping back and looking at it is kind of surreal. I have been in shows with others before but never just me on my own.  There is a rawness to being the only artist in the room, nobody to hide behind while you figure out is it is safe to come out.

I hung the show on Wednesday, in a hurry.  Rushed in, arranged, straightened, stepped back, and was outta there. Then yesterday, I returned with the labels.

The little tea shop where I am showing my work has a corner with two blank walls. They call it the artists’ corner because some artist friends and I started hanging out there.  Now we are taking turns showing our art.

An image from my friend Amy’s art opening.

The artists’s corner was empty the first time I went in to hang the show. I was grateful not to be in anyone’s way.  But yesterday, when I went in with the labels, I came through the doors only to find a couple there.  They were quiet. Both had their heads down, involved in a project. The man was facing me. He looked serious and unmovable. I dreaded going into their space. I made myself as invisible as possible. Placed the tape on the backs of each piece of paper while sitting at a table across the room. Laid them out in order so I could swoop in and out before they even noticed.

First label in hand, I approached the painting on the outside edge. I figured I would inch my way in, gently, with as much stealth as I could muster. I reached up.  The tape kissed the wall.  From the corner of my eye, I watched as the man slowly looked up.  I caught myself holding my breath. Then he spoke. That’s some wonderful art. I hung on his words. Looked at him, blank.  I am guessing you had something to do with it. I offered an uncharacteristically, but genuinely, shy smile.  Felt my right shoulder raise up to meet my ear, much like the school aged kids I had worked with to bring out their eager inner artists.  Yes, they are mine.  He smiled, big and confident (confident perhaps in having brought assurance to a timid heart).

That is a role I revel in.  Some kind of magic happens when one person can lift up another by honoring the expression of their creative spirit.  Sitting on either side of that connection is a gift but being the receiver was a gift and a surprise. It blessed my heart and made me fall even deeper in love with this life.

If you find yourself in the area Friday, May 11th from 5-7 pm., come by and join the opening at Tea Anytime, Etc.  They have a large variety of organic tea and lots of other yummies.  I will be there with my art.  I can’t make any promises, but I hear it is…how did he say?  Wonderful.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Connecting, creativity, Expressive Art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

19 Responses to Deeper in Love {a stranger’s gift}

  1. Congrats on the show! I enjoyed reading your story. 🙂

  2. Jessica says:

    Woohoo! The steps that you have taken are creating the ones in front of you! I love hearing about your success and accomplishments. It inspires me deeply!

    • Rachél says:

      Thanks, Jessica. Sometimes I can’t believe the progress. Then I remember the seeds I have planted over my lifetime and I think, why not!?

  3. Mariah says:

    Oh, my gracious, I was just there today and did not even look up at the walls! what is wrong with me? I will have to go back and look!

  4. Jar Of Salt says:

    Wonderful colors!

  5. rebecca says:

    Yay! Congrats! I think I know how you feel…kind of naked, but exhilarated at the same time. Way to go for it!!! Here’s to the first of (hopefully) many showings of what lies within you 🙂

  6. Rainy says:

    So so very fantastic. Yay!

  7. That is a great story. Validation is a wonderful feeling. Your work is great and I’m sure you will receive many more compliments and well wishes. Soak in all in and enjoy. 🙂

  8. Ana says:

    This is fantastic. Congratulations on your first solo!!!!!

  9. big congratulations and Kudos to the shop for supporting local artists in a big way. I smiled when I read the conversation between you and the man at the table. How lovely of him to speak up.

  10. Elizabeth says:

    The art is fabulous, but I think the human connection and genuine positive emotions for both of you the art engendered is spectacular! Isn’t that what it is (at least in part) all about once you take that step to share it with the world? I wish I could see it in person! Heartfelt congratulations!

  11. Pingback: Celebration of Creativity | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  12. Pingback: What-a-Week {from dollies to Dali} | The Art of Collecting Yourself

Leave a Reply

