Celebration of Creativity

This last Friday, I had the opening for my very first solo art show.  I called it a Celebration of Creativity.  I visited the show just after it was hung. Sitting with the art and a pot of tea, I realized why I felt called to name it that. I picked up a piece of paper and used what came forward as my artist’s statement.

Artist’s Statement

I came to know my own creativity through the hands of the women in my family: my mother, grandmothers, and aunts. They never called what they did art; they were crafting life. Cooking, sewing, crocheting, gardening, decorating, and raising families, these were their works. I lost my mom about the same time I was learning to be a woman. These woman crafts became my connection to her. Over time they have also become a way of connecting with myself, allowing me to discover who I am at my core. Showing my art in the month of May, a month when we honor mothers and those who mother us, is a lovely way to celebrate what my art means to me. This show is for my women, for their hands and hearts. They were and still are my best teacher.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Connecting, Creative Living, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Celebration of Creativity

  1. pkasallis says:

    Beautiful tribute!! Beautiful words!

  2. Beautiful indeed! Very moving how you came to your artist statement Rachel!

  3. lori says:

    So beautiful, Rae!

Leave a Reply

