The Day Lily Lady

I was poking around over at Tangerine Tabby Designs and came across Lisa’s post about day lilies.  Lisa and I met nearly a year ago along with several classmates from the 2011 Flying Lessons e-course (my Fly Tribe). Since then, I have enjoyed snooping around her blog. Her glass creations especially send my heart flying.

A picture from the Texas Fly Tribe’s first meeting after finishing our class. We were shy a few creative Texans, but I felt impressed with the turn out (from September 2011). Clockwise from the left hand corner Christina Fajardo, Ann Marie, Amy Hillenbrand, Sofia Dabalsa, Rose Duncan, Lisa Stamper Meyer, and me.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Oh, but back to the day lilies. Soon after I met my artist hubby, Eric, he introduced me to his grandmother, Granny Tot.  She was a spirited woman, well known around her home town and those close by as the Day Lily Lady.  She didn’t just enjoy planting and tending day lilies, she hybridized them as well.  According to my husband, she enjoyed cross-pollenating the flowers to create adaptations in size, shape, and especially color.

Recently, while going through some of Eric’s things, we came across a painting he had done as a young boy. The subject is of a day lily and a small frog. A few days later while visiting with my aunt, she told me that she had day lilies from my mother and another sister (both who have passed).  Seems a love of day lilies runs on both sides of the family.

I will end this with my very favorite story told about Granny Tot’s day lilies. According to Eric, Tot had a small yellow lily she had cultivated. She named it Bitsy. (Seems naming the new breed of lilies was part of her fascination and passion.)  She cross-fertilized Bitsy with another lily to create a new flower all-together.  The tiny brown and yellow lily’s name: Son of Bitsy.  I told you, she was  spirited.

Isn’t it fun how snooping around the web can awaken such dear connections?!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in creativity and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to The Day Lily Lady

  1. Lisa says:

    Thanks for the shout out! I agree that the web has opened up a whole new world of connections. I have connected with so many wonderful people in the last year or so. Who new that that computer I use for work could also be fun!

    It sounds like I would have liked Granny Tot and her day lilies.

    • Rachél says:

      Yep, she was a keeper! I didn’t know her all that long, but am so glad I did. It helps me help hubby keep her memory alive with stories and references to her in small ways.

  2. pearlz says:

    I really love your blog, keep up the good work. My blog is look a home away from home to, to meet up with artists, writers and friends the world over and locally.

  3. pearlz says:

    I have added you to my blog links Rachel (: thanks for the visit and reply.

Leave a Reply

