One Bite at a Time {on how to eat an elephant}

How do you eat an elephant? One bite at a time!

 

That is how I have been approaching the development of my creative arts biz.  You see, my dreams are big. Yep big!  Sometimes the bigness of my dreams is about them not fitting in my current way of thinking, so I have to take tiny bites to stretch my world view.  But that is how dreams should be.

The first time I heard Rev. Dr. Martin Luther King‘s I Have a Dream, I swooned. I remember, I was in seventh grade. I was familiar with the friction that accompanied discrimination because I had recognized early in my life the wrongness in it. Even as a very young child, I was out spoken regarding my beliefs in equality and justice. So when Mrs. Lions showed us a movie with King’s speech, something in me stirred. I knew it was big and although I already had a course in life which valued civil rights, my view stretched to take in that large, worthy dream.

Those kinds of dreams, for peace, justice, equality, and freedom, those dreams create a foundation for the personal dreams that drive me everyday to stretch, to bite off a bit more than I can chew, to work on myself so that I can be the best dream-maker instrument I can be. That work comes one day at a time, one bite at a time.

So as the week offers itself before me, I like to get my elephants all nice and neat in a row, decide which ones I will feast on in the next seven days, which I will set aside in case I have a bit of room at the end of my meal, and which I will put back in the fridge for next week’s feast and festivities.

This week, I am finishing up a few commissions (paintings), playing with doll-making for the Art Doll Camp I am teaching the last week in June, and working on two projects with the Fly Tribe. I also have plans to do massage at one of the farmer’s markets in town. It will be contingent on getting my massage chair back from the upholstery shop. AND, hoping to get another massage or two scheduled at my new massage studio. Doesn’t that sound like a blissful week?!

What big dream will you create room for in your life this week? Let this space and this community know. Sometimes sharing can give us just the right focus to make our vision a reality!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living, creativity, The Business of Business and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to One Bite at a Time {on how to eat an elephant}

  1. Jessica says:

    I’m dreaming that I can be brave, VERY BRAVE!

  2. Stacey says:

    That does sound like a blissful week!! I need to more organized and put my wants/dreams, etc…into order and check them off one “bite” at a time. I do know that this week I am going to bring my bath and body products into THREE stores this week! Which make me a little nauseous with fear but also full with excitement at the possibility!!! 🙂 Have a beautiful week!

Leave a Reply

