Night Light {camera toss}

Several months ago I invested in a new camera. I love it!  It has been a catalyst for getting me out in the world and has made me fall in love with nature in a new way.  Just before I got my camera, my hometown installed lights on the bridge that goes over our harbor (Harbor Bridge).  Every night it puts on a show. Check out this super short video where I capture a bit of its night light show.

I head over to Harbor Bridge a few times a week and watch the lights change. It is beautiful.  I have tried to capture it with my camera, but am never satisfied with the quality of my shots. They are just too blurry.

So, as artists are apt to do, I took a negative and turned it into a positive.  I set my camera to the fireworks setting to let more light in and began moving my hand as it slowly snapped its image.  I love what I got! (I am including a few of the full bridge so you can go through the creative process with me.)

Seems the crispness I am looking for is still eluding me, but I am up for the challenge and am enjoying the pursuit.

Life is definitely more about the journey than the destination!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

15 Responses to Night Light {camera toss}

  1. Ian Moone says:

    Nice pictures

  2. Very creative problem solving 🙂 these shots are so much more interesting than a crisp shot of the bridge.

  3. Keith Rowley says:

    I love how you can see, in some of the lights, the little sub-vibrations, the little pulses, inside your larger movements. You would never be able to see such subtle rhythmic variations in a still shot. Beautiful, Rachél!

  4. beautifully done… the colors brought a flash back to Desirees childhood, she had a rainbow brite doll and she may still have it… rainbows always bring smiles don’t they.

  5. light as energy – and we think of it as static!

  6. dianne faw says:

    What beautiful results and I love that it came with turning the negative into the positive.

  7. ardentbrands says:

    Thanks for checking out our blog, SnapTease! We’ve checked you out and really like one of the pictures in the “Night Light” sequence, and would like to reblog it. It’ll be formatted like our previous posts, and will credit and link back to your blog. Let us know if you’d like that!

    • Rachél says:

      I would love that, although I would prefer that you let me email you a pic with a watermark of my name (small and unobtrusive). Let me know if that works for you. 🙂

  8. those images are amazing!!!…so….set camera to fireworks setting and move camera as taking photo?…and those are the results???… Wow…gotta try that with some lights tonight! very cool!

    • Rachél says:

      If you do it, feel free to leave a link to your pics, I would love to see them! Or you can post them on Creativity Tribe (our FB page). 🙂

Leave a Reply

