Creativity Zones {letting go}

My journey to become a Creative began with carving out a space for creativity in my life. It started with a closet, big enough to meditate in or sit and draw in. Eventually, as creativity became a bigger part of my life, so did the need, or should I say desire, for space. Now days, the whole house offers an invitation to create or be inspired to create.

That can be a problem if your partner is into art as much as you are.  Every little item invites the Creative Spirit to engage, leaving no thing worthy of being fully discarded because it could always find a life as something else.  Luckily, we haven’t gone so far as to lose our sense of balance when it comes to home and possessions.

We are though, constantly trying to refine how invested we are in our things. Which makes one of our newest family commitments so intriguing. A few days ago, a few of my Fly Tribe friends were sharing that they had committed to letting go of 1000 items from their homes.  I was immediately intrigued and began dreaming about how that would work for us.  A visit to another blog-friend’s home (Jessica from WildWood Naturals) last week had strongly set the desire for more simplicity on my heart. Maybe this challenge offered the perfect way to get us there.

I shared it with my artist hubby one night before bed, and the next afternoon, he began talking about things he might be willing to let go of.  A day or so later, we were dreaming up our strategy.  Yesterday we decided to make the commitment.

The commitment feels big. It isn’t just about choosing 1000 items (which might be overwhelming enough); it also entails deciding what to do with those items. Once we decide, there is the follow-through.  Only after that can we celebrate.

I think it will totally be worth it.  Totally.  E’layne Koenigsberg, the originator of the challenge, has inspired a movement.  I will keep you posted on our progress. Our goal is to Get Rid of 1000 Things in 100 days.  Check for blog posts here and regular updates on the Creativity Tribe FB page!

…more Creativity Zones posts…

  1. Creativity Zones {Workable Mess}
  2. Creativity Zones {Sanctuary of the Studio}
  3. Creativity Zones {Book Control}

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Creative Living and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Creativity Zones {letting go}

  1. My husband and I went through this about 5 years ago. I have to say it was a wonderful feeling once everything was gone. The only problem is every now and then I go to look for something and when I can’t find it, it’s like “did I really give that away!”?? But I don’t dwell on it and just keep going. Good luck in deciding what to part with and what to do with your items.

    • Rachél says:

      I recently sold a few pieces of old jewelry and as I was walking out of the store, I stopped and turned around to take pictures of what I sold. I think it freaked out the buyer, but I knew I would be asking…is that lost or sold…before too long!

  2. Ten items per day– you can do it! Can’t wait to see how it goes!

  3. Galyn says:

    Sell some on Craigslist, then have a yard sale. Put the money in a jar and go on a vacation with it even if you don’t go far. No, you won’t miss it and you can replace anything you find a need for later. Start with clothes. We all have too many clothes. Clothes are at times hard to sell because most everyone else has too many clothes. When we moved last, I spent a whole day trying on clothes and asking myself if or when I would wear something again. Same with books, which are difficult for me to let go of, but many boxes went to Goodwill. I cleaned the garage and out went things I would no longer have a place for in an apartment. I’ve moved seven times and every time we move there’s a clean-out. It’s a good thing.

  4. what an excellent challenge. We are in the midst of selling, giving away, sorting through everything we own to get ready for a life on the road. it’s a huge job but it feels good to let go.

  5. WOWEY I am proud of you both, I don’t think I could do that. I have been challenged to limit myself to one box per room if we had to evacuate…and I get totally overwelmed.. You two will truely inspire me. to get there.

Leave a Reply

