The Fly Life {the difference a year makes}

Today, I have been looking back over the last year, reminiscing.

About a year ago, I made a decision that has changed my life.  It all started with an inkling of disappointment.  I had been writing posts for my blog and wishing so much to make more of my life as a Creative Spirit.  I had dreams of where I wanted to go, but I wasn’t making it happen. It seemed I was at a stand still. I didn’t have many readers and had very few comments. It felt like I was spinning my wheels.

I was sitting at my computer one afternoon and asked out loud, “Am I really supposed to do this?  If I am, I need help.”  Moments later, I looked down to see an email from Kelly Rae Roberts about her e-course, Flying Lessons: Taking Flight.  I laughed, feeling as if I had been heard and answered. After looking through the description, I took the leap.  (…which really felt like a leap of faith. I had never taken an e-course.)

The course was so informative and more important than that initiated a transformation in me. The first couple of weeks, I felt really emotional: fearful of my big dreams and enamored with my big dreams all at the same time. But eventually, as the course went on, I felt empowered by my big dreams and moved into a place of being a champion for them.

Hey, Big Dream!  What? You want to build a community where Creatives can get jazzed about their potential, where they can discover their own big dreams, and share their awesome creativity?!  I am your go-to-girl! 

A short time into the course, I started getting to know the other members of the class. I felt lucky to be in the Facebook group with them. Together, we were the Borge from Star Trek, one amazing force with the promise of connecting with the world in a dynamic way.  If one of us had a question, several others jumped in to answer or point out the way. We began collaborating nearly immediately. We bonded quickly and deeply.

Not long after the class, I decided to do my business full-time.  It has been slow to start, but I don’t mind the struggle….much. (*wink*)  But as the anniversary approaches, I realized I am starting to see some of my BIGGEST dreams come to light. I am checking items of the bucket list in my head and watching as the Universe puts opportunities in front of me that I just had no idea I would love so much. I feel like I am plugged into the flow.

So the Calendar Girl in me has been feeling nostalgic for the anniversary of those first days in Flying Lessons.  What an amazing year!  What a beautiful ride!  What a lovely (and I mean that in the truest sense of the word) circle of women I found in the course! And what a delight-full gathering of Creatives that are beginning to connect here at the Home of the Creativity Tribe.

My heart is SO…VERY….FULL. 

Kelly Rae is offering the Flying Lessons e-course one last time.  If you feel in your heart that this is right for you, I would like to encourage you to Take Flight. Join the Flyers!

For more information about how Flying Lessons inspired me, check out the post about my Top 10 Take-away Tips for Making My Creative Business Fly.

{Post Script}

Check out the new banner and badge. I hope you will grab the badge code (in the sidebar) and display it proudly!  Welcome to Creativity Tribe!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Connecting, creative arts biz, Creative Living, Dreams and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to The Fly Life {the difference a year makes}

  1. Suse says:

    You continue to inspire me!!! I’m a (quiet) Fly Girl too, but I certainly share your passion, admire your faith, and envy your energy and enthusiasm!!! Congrats and keep flyin high, girl!!!

  2. Sofia says:

    Rachel,

    you are just so great! happy anniversary to you and all the fly girls!! so looking forward to our continued evolution together!!

  3. Happy Anniversary!! and CONGRATULATIONS!

  4. This is really great. Hard to believe that it’s been one year already! I still remember you posting on our FB page when you decided to leave your full time job. Funny how I can remember that but can’t remember what I made for dinner yesterday (just kidding!).

  5. Thanks for your post! Bravery is inspiring! Being creative doesn’t mean instant expression, does it? I’ve always said, if creativity can’t find its way out the easy way (your strong suit), it’ll lure you into cooking, woodworking, crocheting, just about anything!

  6. What a wonderful post Rachel! I feel your excitement, and wish you well. You are of to such a great start. Happy anniversary and may you enjoy even more happy creative moments!

  7. Pingback: Super sARTurday! | Creativity Tribe

Leave a Reply

