Band of Gypsies

This weekend a load of traveling creatives crashed in various corners of my house: couch, floor, studio. (I want to give credit to my dear friend Irene Jaan for coining the phase Travel Creatives which so appropriately describes this Band of Gypsies I call my friends.)

Clockwise from bottom: Aaron and Milena from Running Buffalo Journeys and Irene of The Travel Creatives Image courtesy Irene Jaan

We had all just come from a Sacred Cacoa Ceremony. Yep, I am letting my freak flag fly a bit here. Being a creative, you have to go where your creativity leads you, and lately mine has been expressing itself through my spiritual life.

We met in a little chapel I have passed by a thousand times but had never been in. The Chapel of Spiritual Light is on a triangular strip of land nestled between two busy streets , as if the city had grown up around it but it was courageously standing its ground. With a wooden frame reminiscent of old country churches, I found it quaint and unpretentious environment.

Take off your shoes and come on in….that was the way we were greeted, my sweetheart and I.  But we couldn’t get our shoes off quick enough. One after the next, we were taking in hugs and glowing smiles. One foot half way out of the first shoe, hug and smile. Hop on that foot to release the next shoe, hug and smile. Barefoot, hug and smile. Walk through the door to the meeting area, a sanctuary with thick pile carpet that reached up to cradle each step. A circle of people, there, some long-time friends, some new and dear, others familiar faces, and even a few strangers…not strangers for long.

As we looked across the room at the symbol in a stained glass work, we recognized it as the symbol Eric and I had created for our wedding ceremony. For some, it is considered the Medicine Wheel or Odin’s Cross, for others, they might associate it with the astronomical symbol Earth. It had several layers of meaning for us. All more personal than religious. With three days left til we celebrated our 7th wedding anniversary (which actually happens to be today), we felt it was an affirmation that we were in the right place.

Once we got settled in, I looked over and realized there was a huge stock pot filled with a warm chocolate drink. That’s when the smell hit me. Mmmmmm, yes, chocolate. Keith, The Chocolate Shaman, invited us to get our cup and add as much or as little honey as we wanted. The chocolate looked like glistening fudge in the cup, thicker and much darker than the hot chocolate most of us are accustomed to drinking. The honey was beautiful. I had been off sweeteners other than whole fruit for a week which made the addition of honey to the super dark chocolate taste like a little bit of heaven.

Soon after that, The Chocolate Shaman shared the kind of strength and intensity this pure cacao harnessed.  The chocolate most of the world consumes (you know, the big names like Hersey’s, Cadbury and Lindt), according to the Chocolate Shaman, are missing 80-99% of the beneficial compounds that can be found in the older varieties of chocolate. Processing and hybridizing depletes the cacao of so much of its essential goodness.

Keith brings the chocolate from Guatemala where he has made his home for around 17 years. He has a special relationship with the cacao plant and has connected with some of the indigenous tribes in Guatemala who remember how to use the plant for medicine of the spirit.

Keith sharing about the properties of cacao. Image by Irene Jaan

We began drinking the mixture. I listened to my body for how much it wanted. It was delicious. Darker than any I had ever tasted. Sweet and bitter blended with a kind of warm, silkiness that feels like love. Okay, so perhaps that sounds like I am exaggerating or using poetic license, but the fact is the evening felt loving. Self-loving and other loving.

I can’t help but think that it might have something to do with the jolt of energy that your heart and mind get. It’s a rush… subtle and substantial all in the same breath. As he talked, I could feel my heart beat increase. My body wanted to move. I began to rock back and forth slightly. The kind of rocking that comes from your chest when you hear a groovy beat. I wasn’t tripping. I wasn’t on some crazy drug induced high.  But my mind felt clear and I felt high on life.

Keith explained that the cacao will encourage spiritual growth. It invites you to look at where you might grow and then helps assists you as you choose to go there.  That might sound very far off or far out for some. It comes from the belief that certain things have a spirit to them. Plants, stones, animals, the Earth. I decide to play along. I decided to act as if….and see where that led.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I chose to cultivate my curiosity, one of the freedoms I enjoy from being a Creative Spirit.

I am glad I did.

As for my Band of Gypsies {Keith, Brendan, Milena and Aaron of Running Buffalo Journeys} they are each on their own adventure now.  Some headed back to Guatemala, others spending time with family.  I am grateful to have their energy floating around the house. Feels good. Oh, and I nabbed a bit of that yummy chocolate waiting for the next ceremony….Creativity Tribe style.

For more information about ceremonial grade cacao and/or to order your own, visit Keith’s on-line home Chocolate Shaman and his FB page Cacao Tribe.

Don’t miss my first podcast!……tomorrow

Make sure to check back tomorrow for a podcast with Rev. Shar from Lucid Waking Radio as we discuss our take away lessons from the ceremony and as she re-creates one of the meditation the Chocolate Shaman shared with her during her private session with him.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Connecting, Creative Living, creativity, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Band of Gypsies

  1. Angela says:

    Sooooo Beautiful Rachel – Thank you so much for sharing the magic and bliss of Cacao Ceremony with everybody – so great to see you had a wonderful experience with Keith and my amazing brothers and sisters – Keith, Aaron, Milena and Irene! Would be magical to have you visit our Cacao Tribe in San Marcos, Lake Atitlan, Guatemala and play some more with the Cacao Deva! Sending you Chocolate bliss love… -*Angela and The Cacao Tribe*-

  2. Pingback: Lucid Waking Radio {big dream alert} | Creativity Tribe

  3. What a wonderfully delicious way to celebrate life with your friends!

  4. Pingback: Sacred Cacao Highlights: First Time « Creativity Tribe

Leave a Reply

