The In-Between Time {loss and love}

The clock on my computer just shifted to the ninth of August. I can’t help it, but I watch the calendar in August and brace myself for this day every year. I ride the wave to the second of September and heave a sigh on the third. I think of this time as my own personal in-between time. It marks the days between a heart attack that sent my mother into a coma and her passing from this life.

That happened in 1990. And you would think after all that time I wouldn’t flinch when August rolled around. These days I find the in-between time is easier and more productive. But I am just that kind of person these days, a glass half full person, a person who looks for the ray of light.

That wasn’t always the story. I feel like my development into a young woman was pretty rocky. I had my feet swept out from under me. The journey to stand again took awhile. Standing here 22 years later, I like the view.  Sure my rough start is sometimes hard to look back on, but it made me who I am. And I honest can say today that I think my mother would be extraordinarily proud of me. I am proud of me.

From this view point, I see where I am going as well. A lot of the journey I am planning for myself has been formed out of my relationship with her. She was the first artist I ever knew, the one who first allowed me the freedom to create, and she was my biggest fan when I was sharing my gifts with the world.

I know that she wanted to be a good mother and I hope she knows by the way her children turned out that she was…and from my view still is! A day doesn’t go by that I don’t learn something because she chose to be a force of loving in my life.

And so the in-between time begins.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in creativity, death, self-love, Spirituality and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to The In-Between Time {loss and love}

  1. I’m sure, too, that your mother would be proud of you. You are an extraordinary woman, and it is my honor to call you “friend”. Much love coming your way today — and everyday! Coincidentally, I was just thinking about my mother a few hours ago, in a stronger way than I usually do.

  2. I relate to your post Rachél. September 7th 1995 was the year my mum passed from cancer. I know my mum would have been proud of me as only mother’s can be. Not for any amazing achievement but for being me. I’m getting teary now. Thank you for reminding me of my beautiful mother today.

  3. You are our Rae of Sunshine and we are here, hold this space for you, my Sweet~ xo

  4. Deborah says:

    I no your mother is so proud of you ! And we are too ! You are a amazing woman !

  5. Yes, you ARE amazing, Rachel! But, you post made me really think about myself as a mother in hopes that I can be what your mom was to you to my own daughters. Wow.

  6. I am always learning something new or something in deeper depth from you or about you from your posts.. Today is no different, We knew we had lost our mothers about a month apart the same year. My mom went into her semi-coma the 2nd of Aug and Full coma Sept 3 and passed Oct 4th in 1990. Thank you for sharing memories and how you use this “in between time” that so special for you to honor her and yourself as well.

  7. Wendy says:

    How beauful!

  8. Wendy says:

    I mean beautiful!

  9. My condolences on the loss of your mother. She would certainly be proud! Here’s some recognition for your accomplishments. I wanted to let you know that I’ve nominated you for two blog awards! http://www.thedomesticpagan.net/2012/08/iblog-awards.html

Leave a Reply

