Giving Flight {giving balance}

My thoughts on The Spirit of Giving (as part of the Flying Lessons Blog Hop) Look below for TWO give-aways and the addresses for the hop.

Hi, I am Rachél Payne. Welcome to the temporary home of Creativity Tribe. Yep, I said temporary.  On September 9th, as part of Startup Training School’s ONE K in 1 Day event, I am picking up and moving to a bigger and better space (you got it…my own dot com) where we can all stretch our wings, kick up our heels, and give our Creative Spirits a lift. Can you feel the excitement?!

In the beginning…

When I first started blogging, a few years ago, I didn’t have many visitors and often felt like I was talking to myself.  That was okay, I sometimes needed a good talking to. One of the very first topics I explored was how to care for myself, I mean, care deeply, care thoroughly. I started there because I had begun doing my internship in counseling, and I thought if I was giving to others at work, I would need to work at balancing that with giving to myself.

Soon I wasn’t alone.

Before long, I turned my talk about self-care around and started connecting with others about how they might give care to themselves. The focus on writing about care, for myself or others, has meant living more care out in the world, giving more care out in the world.  It is a cycle, a circle.

When you have a blog, it grows into a community, one reader at a time, one comment at a time, one soul exposing post and image at a time. It becomes a place for you to gather and bear witness to those commonalities that make us all human and those differences that brilliantly mark us as individuals. In the witnessing and sharing, the exposing and caring, another circle is created, a circle where healing takes place, where we create possibility to invest into our lives.

A circle of giving…

In this labyrinth of mirrors, I see you…. You see me…. Through you I see myself…. Through me you see yourself.  We become a kind of tribe, dancing out nuances of one another’s moves and grooves. My individual self is inspired by you and your individual self is slightly altered by coming in contact with me. This is the nature of life. It is reciprocity. It is living in a spirit of giving….to one another and to the self.

This spirit of giving is a gift that makes both parties richer.

After discovering the dance of giving that happens here, I decided to give our circle a name. I call it Creativity Tribe because within this circle, we are each learning to create beautiful lives that give us meaning and grant us a bit of magic.

FIRST GIVEAWAY: To celebrate this hop, I am giving away three spot in Creativity Tribe’s first event, Touch the Moon. To enter the give-away, head over to the Creativity Tribe Facebook page and leave a comment under this photo on that page. I will announce the winner (chosen randomly) on the Friday, August 24th on my Facebook page.

Giving-away THREE spots in Touch the Moon e-course. 

Another Tribe…Another Give-Away

A year ago this month, the circle that I roam around in on the web got quite a bit bigger. I joined my first on-line class and in it I found a layer to that labyrinth of mirrors that helped me to dance the grooviest dance I have gotten down to in years. The class was called Flying Lessons. The creative spirits who came to the class call themselves the Fly Tribe. Today I am celebrating the year anniversary of being a proud member of that circle by joining them in a blog hop and give-away.

The Fly Tribe came together as a bunch of individuals looking to learn a bit about what it meant to run a creative business. We came together to take Kelly Rae Robert’s Flying Lessons. Along the way, we made some friends, we supported one another’s dreams, we lifted one another up when difficulties (in business and life) threatened to get the better of us. We didn’t just learn to “Take Flight” (as Kelly Rae’s course suggests). We learned to Give Flight to one another.

Now with one year of soaring under our wings, we want to share the love.

We have gathered together for an awesome anniversary blog hop about the Spirit of Giving and for a Flying Lessons Give-Away.

We have raised enough money to fund 8 spots in Kelly Rae’s Flying Lessons. Kelly Rae has jumped in to match our 8 classes for a whopping….are you ready….

16 Spots to be given away on the Fly Tribe Blog.

Second Give-Away: Find details for Flying Lessons give-away at Fly Tribe’s Blog.

Now…how’z about a HOP!

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in creativity and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to Giving Flight {giving balance}

  1. sherrybelul says:

    Oh, what a delightful photo of you up above! Thank you for your bright, wonderful, whimsical, open-hearted spirit. You bring so very much to this group and do so much to make it more cohesive all the time. BIG THANKS for who you are and what you give to the world, every single day. Cheering you on, every step of the way! 🙂

  2. Sofia says:

    you are fun, smart and radiant! i love the story above about giving! you have made an impact in my life! how you showed me to care for myself! the mixed media candle project i hold so dear! i love your artwork and your mission! thank you and happy anniversary!

  3. Great Post Rachel, I am so looking forward to your ecourse at the end of this month. It has truely been a blessing to fly with our group this past amazing year! Happy Anniversary!

  4. Stacey says:

    Thank you for all the work you do to inspire others to be better…the effort you make to build community…it has been a pleasure flying with you this past year!!

  5. Carol says:

    Hi Rachel! Just wanted to let you know that I have signed up for Kelly Rae’s final Flying Lessions and I’m soooo excited! I’m slowly hopping around and catching up on all your posts now that I found your site…can’t wait to see the “new improved version”. I hope to meet and bond with some fabulous ladies during my Flying Lessons trip.

    I’m looking forward to meeting you in Austin at the 1K 1 Day event, if you can make it 🙂

    Carol

  6. Rachel – I love reading your posts. Even though we haven’t met in person, I can tell that when I do you will be playful, compassionate and warm. I can’t wait! Until then, congrats on all that you have and will continue to accomplish as you stretch out your beautiful wings and soar! xo,
    Kathleen

  7. You are so magical! Your posts are always so brilliant, creative, honest and smart. Love ya! You just light me up….Thanks sis….Happy Anniversary.
    oxoxoxox

  8. Thank you for all the hard work you do to help make our tribe so wonderful.

  9. Rachel,
    Thanks for all of your hard work organizing and reorganizing this blog hop! Congratulations on your many successes this year and cheers to an amazing year ahead!

    Happy Flying! 🙂 Kris

  10. Happy Anniversary Rae! Thanks for all the work you did on the hop and for participating in the Inspiration Deck swap. I can hardly wait to see your cards! xo j

  11. Jamie Burch says:

    Beautiful post, Rae! Thank you so much for all you do for this magical sisterhood. Your friendship and the inspiration you gift the world mean so much to me. Happy Anniversary!!! ((hugs))

  12. This was a fabulous event you organized. I’m super impressed. Looking forward to getting to know you a lot better in the future.
    xo Lenore

  13. Mary says:

    Where would we be without you? So very grateful for all you do to keep us moving forward. So happy to be flying with you! Happy Fly Tribe Anniversary! XO

  14. Jill says:

    Rachel, I agree with Mary above-where would we be without you? You are one of the rocks of this amazing group…a circle is a great analogy you used as well…you are such an encouragement to us as hopefully we are to you. Thank you for sharing your journey and inspiring us to branch out, dream big, give of ourselves and never give up.

    Jill

  15. Rachel, you have been incredibly amazing with our Fly Tribe in every way imaginable. I agree with the others, “where would we be without you?” is an understatement. I look forward to meeting you and rooming with you next April and I’m so happy and honored to call you my friend!

  16. Mary says:

    Hi Rachel – What a thoughtful and thought-provoking post about healing and giving and the circle this forms. I had never thought of it in those terms. Looking forward to another year of learning and growing with the Fly Tribe.

  17. Sally Rose says:

    Happy Anniversary, Flygirl! It has been a wonderful year, sharing this journey with you. I love your open and honest posts, they are very touching and thought provoking. Keep healing and flying!

  18. Ursula says:

    Hi Rachel! So happy to have been part of the circle, the tribe this year with you! What fun we have had and there is so much more to come! Happy Anniversary!!,

  19. Rachel, as I read this post, I realized I had more to say than what could be put in a reply so it is in my blog post today.

  20. Pingback: Touch the Moon {Give-Away} | Creativity Tribe

  21. Rae – you have one of the most beautiful spirits I’ve ever seen. Your warmth and always giving presence in the group is amazing. I am so happy to have met you via Flying Lessons and amazed at the past year that you’ve had. I can’t wait to see you fly even higher. xoxo

  22. Lori says:

    Thanks so much for all you do and say and are for and to this group. I have loved watching you take flight. You are an inspiration! xoxo L

  23. wini says:

    Dear Rachel, What a beautiful blog post. Your spirit shines! Good luck with your upcoming ecourse. I am sure it will be amazing. Thank you for organising the giveaway and blog hop. You have done a fantastic job. Happy Anniversary and wishing you much joy and success!! xo

  24. Fiona says:

    That’s a beautiful story Rachel. Care for self, leads to care for others in a much more meaningful (and sustainable!) way. Best of luck with all the Big Plans – sounds exciting!

Leave a Reply

