Ah Musing

As an artist, I am always in pursuit of a muse, something that pulls the creativity out of me and sends me breathlessly to the page or canvas. In mythology, a Muse often comes wrapped in gauzy garb, hair flowing, a sweet talking vixen. But what shape does the Muse take in the real life world?

I have seen Muses in all sorts of shapes, sizes, and packages.  My cats are often my Muses. They crack me up and make my heart soar with gratitude. They are my teachers and my playmates.

My friends are my Muses. Serious or playful. On for the camera or caught in thought.

One of my favorite Muses is my husband, Eric. We met each other eight years ago this month and talked that first evening of art and creative living. He is beyond all people the one who inspires me and brings me day in and day out to my creativity.

But even without any of these Ah-Musing Muses, I know I can depend on myself to find ah-musement. It is never further than looking inward.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in creativity and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Ah Musing

  1. Thank you, Rachel, for being my greatest Muse!

  2. suzicate says:

    Nature is my biggest creativity booster. I was reading a book by Sonia Choquette and it said to simply turn to your muse/guide and ask its name and you will know. I did it and “walrus” came to me. I thought it was plain crazy. Then a few minutes later “I am the Walrus” by the Beatles came on the radio. I shook my head and thought no way. A few minutes after that a walrus showed up on the television screen. Synchronicity? I like to think so. From then on I’ve called my muse Walrus. I’ve even named my inner critic Egg Man!

  3. muse is a new word for me to uncover…I have seen it many times but never really searched to find out what it was really about. so will need do reading this morning to get a feel for what a muse is. Thank you for expanding my thought process this weekend.

  4. what a delightful share of your muses. The variety of such is why you are so creative, methinks.

  5. way cool. how far is “in?” keep on.

  6. revshar says:

    oh goodness life is my muse ! until recently my creativity went on hiatus….well there was creativity going on but it was internally building …. now, today, I can’t think of what is NOT my muse 🙂

  7. Birgit says:

    Your feline muses are just sweet! 🙂

    Sunny greetings from Germany,
    Birgit

Leave a Reply

