Pulling All Nighters

My days got flipped. A few weeks ago, when my room mates went on vacation, I began living my life at night while my husband was working because I had grown so accustomed to having someone at home. Now everyone is back in sync, except for me. I have turned into a certified (almost wrote certifiable) creatrix of the night. The sun goes down and I wake up. A bite to eat and time with hubby before he is off to work, then off to my studio lair where I listen for the Muse to gently call my attention to the night’s latest soiree. I don’t mind working this way so much, but it definitely goes against the grain set out by society which can be a bit troublesome.  Makes it hard to connect with those who live life by sun light.  But this weekend offers an opportunity to flip. So hopefully I will be back to my daylight work rhythm before too long. Working at night has been a big help in staying focused. I have managed to get a lot of art done and some pretty decent writing.

Tonight I am working on a mixed media piece with an underwater theme for a class I am teaching at the beginning of next year. I am very excited about the art and the class.  I am so please with the way it turned out. This push to create is forcing me to work on a variety of art skills. Up until recently, I hadn’t really painted much. I have mostly worked with prisma color. I suppose any kind of work transfers over to a new medium eventually.

Copyright Rachél Payne

I am extremely pleased with how realistic my mermaid is.  My work is usually much more naive, a fact I don’t mind, but it is exciting to do more when I want it. So, basically, I love her. lol  Somehow she looks like my mother did when she was young. I call the work Sanctuary. It is playful but has lots of soul.  And I am so happy to get to share it with you.

This work is my offering for Art Every Day Month. If you are interested in checking out the other artist, head over to that site. I have been enjoying the blogs and getting to know some new Creative Spirits.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Art Cafe and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Pulling All Nighters

  1. I love the hues of blue in this. stunning.

  2. Lori Moon says:

    The colors are fantastic! I especially love her hair.

  3. Ann Marie says:

    This is great Rae! Glad you are dipping your toe into painting. It can be so freeing to guide paint onto surface and watch what happens.

  4. rosemary@yahoo.com says:

    she is beautiful… and my first thought was she looks real not a barbie doll mermaid… she has made my day.

  5. spaark says:

    I like her! I love the colors you have used and the layering . Obviously your muse is a bit of a night owl! I am often tempted to create late at night as no distractions, but changing it around makes me a bit anxious…Julie

  6. It is really lovely; mixed media gives endless possibilities!
    Love the castle in the distance and the swirly water.. :)))
    Gwen xx

  7. Serena says:

    Your mermaid is lovely and those colours are beautiful!

  8. Very pretty – like so many others, I really like the colors you used!

  9. Pingback: The Art of Play | The Art of Collecting Yourself

  10. This is gorgeous. I can completely see the sanctuary there…. you have inspired me, out of the blue, to research the family/descendents of Charlotte Perkins Gilman. I’ve discovered she may have one grandson still alive. I have a name, he is apparently in California. He donated his mother’s papers (she was a sculptor!) to Radcliffe in 2011. (Hopefully he didn’t will them to Radcliffe… have yet to discover that part. I have found he is a photographer…. intriguing to no end! THANK YOU for the inspiration!

    (Something about the watery~fluid motion called me to my own motherhood and set my wondering (not wandering WONDERING) mind into action.

    Hugs again!

Leave a comment