I Can Feel the Magic All Around

The Practical Magic Blog Party is in full swing.  Here at The Art of Collecting Yourself, I have just flown in from a trip to The Great Northwest where I visited the quaint town of Coupeville, Washington, located on Whidbey Island.  Coupeville is the little village that was transformed for the movie Practical Magic.

Let me take you on a tour of Coupeville’s waterfront, tell you stories that the villagers told me about the the cast and crew of Practical Magic, share my interview with the shop owner whose business is inside Sally’s herb shop, and show you the magic of this beautiful place.

For more on my visit to Coupeville for the PM Blog Party check out these posts:  (Should have everything up and ready October 1st….the links won’t be ready til then.)

What I Learned about Life from Practical Magic

Human Rights Advisory

Good-bye Coupeville and Whidbey Island

Outside Verbena Botanicals Today

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Practical Magic Blog Party and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to I Can Feel the Magic All Around

  1. valerie hart says:

    Hi Rae! Happy Practical Magic Party, and one of my favorite movies! It’s still going on… and so many blogs to visit! My favorite scene is when young Sally is making and casting her Amas Veritas spell… adorable… And the saying at the end of the movie,
    “… fall in L*O*V*E whenever you can!

    OMG the videos that you shared… are just so great and the interview of the owner of “Sally’s shop”! How fun you got to visit the actual town!! I am so jealous! Maybe I will get there one day… it looks idyllic! Thanks SO MUCH FOR SHARING your great videos! Great job!!!

    Hope you have a chance to fly by my blog for a “special spell” that I have for everyone!

    ✻´¨)
    ¸.•´¸.•*´¨) ¸.•*´¨)
    (¸.•´ (¸.•´✻✻✻Lots of magical wishes, dreams and blessings to you and your family…

    xoxo Valerie

    Illustrator, Licensed Artist + Surface Pattern Designer

    • Rae says:

      Valerie, thank you for your enthusiasm about the posts. I hope to have the rest of the videos up soon.

      And as for the movie, that is the scene that sets her magical life in motion. I love it too! Off on my broom to see you.

      Rae

  2. Jo says:

    Bravo! What en enchantingly creative PM party post!

  3. Thanks so much for inviting me to your wonderful blog party! I really enjoyed all the videos and had so much fun! I hope you’ll come visit me, too!

    http://scrapvamp.blogspot.com

  4. Flying through for the Practical Magic Blog Party! It was worth the wait, what a wonderful tour! ~Blessings~

  5. Jessica says:

    So much fun! I wish I’d been there with you! Rob and I are green with envy, but really glad you got to go. Some day you’ll have to take me with you and check it out again. We can pretend we are Sally and Gillian, I get to be Sally. Right? 😉

  6. Birgit says:

    Oh my gosh — it was definitely worthwhile that I bookmarked your blog to return for your Practical Magic post. Thanks for sharing all those movie clips — you rock! 🙂

    — Birgit

  7. Keith says:

    Thanks for the fun and informative videos, Rae!

  8. Annabelle says:

    What a wonderful little tour of the town and that magical shop, throughly enjoyed it. Luv your hats.Would have loved to be there with you and smell that gorgeous sea air….beautiful. Thank you again for a very lovely visit.

    •*´¨***~^..^~*Annabelle¸.•*´¨*¸*´¨*

  9. Storybook says:

    Oooooh What fun! And the music you picked for your blog is simply ethereal. “Oh for a voice like thunder…” Goosebumps! I love the power of a brewing storm. It IS magical! 🙂 Have a wonderful day. Happy (continuing) PM blog party!

    http://everymagicalday.wordpress.com

    • Storybook says:

      Maybe that song was not on your blog. It matched perfectly though! I had two tabs open and got confused. *blush* I am so embarrassed. 😦

      • Rae says:

        Would love to hear the music if you happen to remember the other page you had open.

        Thanks for visiting!

      • Rae says:

        No need to be embarrassed. You had a magical moment. Thanks for sharing it!

        • Storybook says:

          The song I heard was on teeksblog. Very nice song and it went so well with your PM post. It was playing quietly as I read your post, watched your first two videos. The song finished as the second video came to a close. lol Coincidences like that are magical. 🙂

  10. kelly says:

    Wow! Lucky you!! That town looks great! Thanks for sharing the videos. I actullay toured Smithville, Tx. where another one of Sandra Bullocks movies wwas filmed-Hope Floats. I didn’t think to bring a camcorder with me at the time. 😦
    I love to see the towns, especially when real ones are used in movies.

  11. Rae says:

    Thanks, Kelly. I have spent some special times in Smithville. I used to have family that lived there. It is a hidden gem. Glad you stopped by.

  12. The shops look amazing!!!

    • Rae says:

      Samantha, it was amazing. It was packed full of indulgent little trinkets, lotions, and gifts. I didn’t think of it originally, but in retrospect, I should have filmed the inside. 🙂

  13. Pingback: The Long Way Home « Creativity Tribe

Leave a comment