Genii Curas: Taking Care of Their Spirits

So, I haven’t taken Latin since high school, but occasionally I find that blending words together in Latin can capture more of the essence of a thought than plain English.  And for those who know Latin-ese, please, forgive any butchering I have done of this ancient tongue.

Genii Curas is a phrase I puzzled together from a Google hunt of Latin phrases that might help me explain an inclination I have to help in certain social circles.  In my undergrad studies of Communication Art, I had the pleasure of taking a class on small group dynamics.  Since then, tinkering with the inner workings of small teams of individuals has been a fascination.  A dear friend of mine, Kay, used to play group-tinker with me.  When things got sticky and people were getting hot under the collars, we would give each other The Look. The Look meant we were going to work together to flip the group…that is to bring them to a more centered place, a place of positively enlivened spirits.

I have found myself socially in a group which needs flipping.  The Spirit of the group is one of fear.  I feel it myself.  We are taking on a new endeavor.  An endeavor which will encourage us to reach deep within ourselves to accomplish our task.  As I have been meditating on the positive aspects of the group, I realize there is much potential….but I am not sure my group can see that yet.  I find myself being called to be their cheerleader, to hold up a mirror to their highest good.

I chose these words…genii and curas….because there were subtle nuances in the meanings which held keys to some aspect I felt necessary to equip my mission as cheerleader.  Genii comes from the base gen which denotes a household or tribe.  It is found in the word genius which is much like our guardian spirit.  This word is appropriate because this group I am working with is a kind of team…a tribe… and the team’s mission is to care for another household, of sorts.  The word curas comes from the name of a Latin divine figure who is both the creator of humankind and the caretaker for them.  This team I am assisting is the first of its kind.  And in that sense, we are newly created.  In order to care for those who are put into our care, we must care for ourselves…individually and as a team.  I feel like this knowledge is the gift I am to share with them.

Jamie Ridler poses a question each week…in the form of a wish.  This weeks she asked, What gifts do you wish to share?  My answer is genii curas…I wish to take care of their spirits…first the spirit of my team…and then the household we are entrusted with.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Wishcasting Wednesday and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

20 Responses to Genii Curas: Taking Care of Their Spirits

  1. Sarah Lulu says:

    As you wish for yourself I so lovingly wish this for you also. xx

  2. Yvonne says:

    As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also!

  3. Donna says:

    A wonderful gift to share. As you wish for yourself, I wholeheartedly wish for you also. And I feel the world crying out for this gift! xx

  4. FloridaCindy says:

    Your art is fascinating! Can you spare some time to take care of another spirit? I’m just kidding-you have enough to do! As Rae wishes for herself, I wish for her also.

  5. maggie J says:

    Wonderful wish with deep roots….nice.
    As Rae wishes for herself so to I wish for Rae.

  6. A beautiful gift, and wonderful that you use it with wisdom. As you wish for yourself, Rae, so do I wish for you as well.

  7. Lucy says:

    Oh how I wish I could use your idea with my group (work group). As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you also.

  8. As Rae wishes for herself, so I wish for her also.

  9. What a lovely, lovely wish. Love this…. (I feel myself doing the same thing, offering the same gift from time to time…)

    As Rae wishes, so I wish for her also…

  10. Ceanne says:

    Just lovely! I could have used your guidance in some meetings I’ve been in recently. ;o)

    As Rae wishes for herself, I wholeheartedly wish for her as well!

  11. As you wish for yourself I also wish for you. Such a wonderful wish,

  12. April Cole says:

    As you wish this for yourself… I wish this for you as well.

  13. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you!!

  14. keishua says:

    Hmm…that is such a great wish. The spirit of fear is so chocking. Your gift will be a great blessing to many.

  15. Jacs says:

    As you wish for youself, I wish for you too.

  16. caz says:

    As you wish for yourself i wish for you also.

  17. What a beautiful gift, and what a wonderful thing to wish to share. As you wish for yourself, so I wish for you as well.

  18. Mare says:

    That is such a great strength to possess and others are blessed to have you share it with them. As you wish for yourself, so I truly wish for you also.

  19. Sara Rae says:

    I love this wish. As you wish for yourself, I wish for you also.

  20. Yes yes yes! As you wish for yourself I wish for you as well!

Leave a comment