Full Moon Dream Board

Do you remember what wishing was like when you were a kid?  I wished on all kinds of things: an eyelash recovered from my cheek then blown off the end of my mother’s pinkie, a necklace when the latch found its way to the pendent, petals plucked from field flowers, the twisted stem of an Autumn apple, and candles on birthday cakes.  Lots of wishes in my young life to match the depth of potential in front of me.

Well, I haven’t stopped wishing.   In fact, I make a point of wishing.  I find it is very good for me.  Now days, my favorite way to wish is the same as it was when I was a kid, with my eyes to the sky.  Growing up, we lived on the edge of a small town.  The sky was dynamic and vast, and it’s magnitude seemed to stretch my vision about what was possible and probable.  The tiny girl with her feet tucked into strands of Johnson grass toured the Universe via her imagination.  Some of those first dreams still drive my life to this day.

I still live in that same town that I grew up in.  The skies are a little more crowded and a bit less defined, and my life takes me less frequently to soak in its majesty.  But the last couple of weeks as the Texas wild fires have produced smoke that filters the light of the setting sun, my eyes have taken in the sublime theatrics with the wonder of my youth.

Being awe struck for two weeks does something to a person.  For me, it has been like having my dreams cultivated in the incubation chamber of my subconscious. And so, as the moon makes her way to fullness, I feel my dreams mirroring her course.

photo by Eric Payne

Wishing is not enough though.  Action is the life mate of dreaming.  Together, they produce the most lovely offspring.  It is with this knowledge that I have been actively pursuing my dreams for weeks now.  And the results are as inspiring as the dreams themselves.

This vision board shows with broad, sweeping strokes the general highlights of what I am wishing for.  To be more specific, I have created a running list of to-do’s in a google doc that I can access on my home computer, my smart phone or where ever I might have access to the internet.  I can visit it to check off what is accomplished or add to it as my dreams spawn new ideas.  Working in this way feels quick and productive.

click image to enlarge

One aspect of my vision board is the background paper I have used on it.  It is a tissue paper with golden cherubs.  When I saw it in my studio, I knew it must cover the board.  Something about it spoke to the sense of blessed synchronicities I have been feeling and witnessing.  I wrote about this in my thank you letter to Kelly Rae Roberts but know that the blessings I am receiving are much broader than that.

Does wishing work?  I have to say that on one hand I am a practical woman who knows there are bounds to what is possible, but I choose to let the world show me those boundaries rather than define them for myself…..in the other hand, I hold the stars that have fallen from the sky and landed securely in my lap.  Just a few hours after finishing this dream board, I got smacked upside the head with a dream come true.  It is still “in the works,” but when I can, I promise to share it with you!

Do you have wishes and dreams you would like to bring out into the light?  Join the tribe of dreamers who regularly claim the visions they have for themselves by doing and sharing Full Moon Dreamboards with the wishstress, Jamie Ridler.

I would also love to share with you some of the other dreamboards and wishcastings  I have created.  They are the foundation of a years worth of mindful manifestations that have brought me to today.

About Rachél

Hi, I am Rachél.... the quirky, big-hearted soul behind Creativity Tribe, a sanctuary for your creative spirit. As a life coach and artist, I know the importance of community, celebration, and transformation. Creativity Tribe is abuzz with connections to other creative bloggers and offers tips and stories to inspire your creative lifestyle! http://www.creativitytribe.com/
This entry was posted in Connecting, creativity, Full Moon Dream Board and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Full Moon Dream Board

  1. Ginny says:

    What a beatiful board. I find that wishing does really work. I usually believe it works best when mixed with action but every once in awhile the wish alone is enough. Just like magic. So I wish and plan and take a step or two and see what magic happens. It is wonderful!

  2. kimnixon says:

    A beautiful board…I am glad I took the time to visit on your blog today! I love the words you shared, “Action is the life mate of dreaming” Thank you.

    • Rae says:

      Kim, so glad you stopped by, too! I swung over to your neck of the woods and notice that we both have prominent eggs as part of our boards. Lovely synchronicity.

  3. Gorgeous! Oh, I love the freedom I feel in the energy you created, the flow… love the background… love the vibe of receiving I am getting just gazing at it.
    Rich, lovely, very YOU!! Woot Woot Wishing & Dreaming Woman!

    • Rae says:

      Thanks, Juile! Love it when the good vibes get passed around. That is why we do what we do. And that is the power in sharing our wishes and dreams!

  4. Helen says:

    I love what you wrote here, especially “action is the life mate of dreaming.” What a great reminder. Thanks!

    • Rae says:

      I have been feeling that very strong the last month or so. I can be a very cerebral person, so pairing intention with action in a mindful way is a big ah-ha for me.

  5. Melinda says:

    very interesting images but more importantly I like how they are TORN and the IMAGES created in the tears. Do you see some of the figures there that just POPPED out at me? That center image of the hand with the way it is torn combined with the torn image above looks like a hand holding a goblet that is running over with the essence of all you can be! TO the right of that the orange/brown tree area…I see a large bear outline formed by the tear and right under that an image formed from the tear that reminds me of a wolf! In Native American culture the bear represents a symbol of power, strength, learned humility, motherhood, teaching, healing and even DREAMING! and the wolf teaching skill, loyalty, interdependence, success, perseverance, stability and thought. I just found that sort of interesting and really changed the entire way i viewed your board and even my own and future boards! THANKS for your visit and kind words on my board too!

    • Rae says:

      Melinda, I did see the wolf! It wasn’t intentional, but doesn’t surprise me. I have been thinking a lot about animals and what they represent. Those two animals have been especially important to me in my life. This month, dreamboards have developed into a new kind of creature with the organic shapes you are talking about and the foundation layer that I did with the angels (that is something similar to what Julie did on hers with words). I like it! So nice to meet you! Happy dreaming!

  6. CArol says:

    Wonderful Dream Board ~ “Shoot for the Moon, you just might land among the stars” (Betty Davis) ~ Possibilities are wide open ~ dream on ! namaste, Carol (A Creative Harbor) new to this group ~

    • Rae says:

      Hi Carol, I have visited your Creative Harbor before…it is a lovely place. Betty must have known what she was talking about….she was a spunky woman. Welcome to the group!

  7. melody says:

    I love this vision board you have completed – the angelic energies of course -and in the much more playful version of chrubs and the lush juicy vibrance of the pomegranate so rich in symbolism about creativity, fecundity and femininity – yummy!

    May all your wishes come true!

    • Rae says:

      Thanks, Melody. I actually made the board not long after listening to part of one of your shows! The angels must have floated in via the radio waves.

  8. Lucy says:

    Love how other people see things in our boards. Great board.

  9. Amanda S. says:

    I love your dreamboard. The image in the top center caused the word “awakening” to come to mind. Enjoy those fallen stars!

  10. Sue Fox says:

    “Blessed synchronicities”, seems we both had angels in our dreaming on this full moon! I can see your cherubs their presence binds the whole dream together – wonderful.

    Sue x

  11. Janece says:

    LOVELY board, Rae – of course, my eye was drawn immediately to the Pomegranate 🙂

    Thank you so much for the piece of artwork that you sent me! I received it while gone on vacation and it was a terrific way to come home!

  12. Hey there Rae – thanks for visiting my board!

    I’m loving yours … Take action, you say. And yesterday the question I was asked to ask myself was ‘What steps do I need to take?’. I can sense a theme 🙂

  13. Beautiful dream board! I haven’t taken up the practice yet, but I really should join Jamie’s full moon dream board. Maybe when we get moved, and I find some more time. Thanks so much for stopping by my Wishcasting blog post. Like you, I feel as though I’ve made great strides, but I would like a mentor. Even a casual, unofficial one would be nice. I wish for mentors for both of us!

  14. Roberta says:

    Thank you so very much. I am going to start a dream, wish board too. I think it will be an ongoing one. Someone mentioned a scrapbook; I think I would like to be able to see all of it at the same time. I guess I won’t really know until I get it started.

Leave a comment